8 Enthralling Sci-fi Books Like 11/22/63

Listen to this article

Time travel is an incredible wonder of science. While scientists make this wonder into reality, we may enjoy some great science fiction that will take us back in time. Especially when the fiction comes from the famous American writer ‘Stephen King’, you are in for a zest of thrill and suspense.

The book we are about to review is 11/22/63′. Yes, the date of the JFK assassination. Stephen King sets his protagonist ‘Jake Epping’ to go back in time and alternate this history where ‘Kennedy’ got shot and killed in action. The readers positively acclaimed this science fiction and this book was stayed on The New York Times Best Seller list for 16 weeks. ’11/22/63′ won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize for Best Mystery/Thriller and the International Thriller Writers Award for Best Novel in 2012.

Don’t be disappointed if you have already read this book and have come here searching for books similar to 11/22/63. We have researched “Science Fiction”, “Psychological Fiction” and “Historical Fiction” genres to find some books for you.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

A Man Called Ove

Fredrik Backman

Fiction

Never Let Me Go

Kazuo Ishiguro

Science Fiction

Psychological Fiction

The Wall

John Lanchester

Dystopian Fiction

All the Light We Cannot See

Anthony Doerr

Historical Fiction

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Gail Honeyman

Psychological Fiction

The Green Mile

Stephen King

Magical Realism

Southern Gothic

Lady in the Lake

Laura Lippman

Mystery

Thriller

Kindred

Octavia E. Butler

Psychological Fiction

Here, eight books like 11/22/63 will be reviewed in this article to intrigue your excitement further. If you like any of these books, then “Check The Price” to keep one in your collection.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

11.22.63 Book Summary

‘Jake Epping’ is a high school English teacher from ‘Lisbon Falls’, Maine. At the inception of the novel, Jake is taking GED classes for extra earning. Ironically Jake forms a friendship with a student, ‘Harry Dunning’, through an unexpected assignment submission about Harry’s tragic experience of witnessing his family’s murder by his drunken father.

Later in 2011, at Al’s Diner, Jake encounters the diner’s proprietor ‘Al Templeton’. Al reveals a portal in the restaurant’s pantry to Jake and chooses him to undertake a time-traveling mission. The mission requires the prevention of JFK’s assassination in 1958 that could save the world from many bad things.

Al directs Jake to transport in 1958 for the first time and allows him to understand time traveling rules. There Jake discovers the mysterious “Yellow card man”. Jake experiments this time traveling portal, but he miserably fails to change Harry Dunning’s fate. Al, suffering from cancer, takes his own life to urge Jake to take on the original mission.

Without a definite plan, Jake journeys back to 1958 to a new world of JFK where there are Plymouth Fury cars, Lindy Hopping dancing, and widely popular Elvis. Jake meets a troubled loner called ‘Oswald’ and also a librarian named ‘Sadie Dunhill’. Jake is now living a life that transgresses the normal norms of the time.

 11.22.63 book is quite advanced in its plot and an understandable narrative structure. King has indeed explored complex science fiction and alternate history through this immense possibility.

From gobooksgo on Instagram

8 Science Fiction Books Like 11/22/63

Here, i list 8 books that you may find similar to 11/22/63, either written by some great authors like Stephen King or written in the “Fiction” Genre..

A Man Called Ove, by Fredrik Backman

Books that take you back in time like ‘11.22.63’ are truly captivating. Therefore the ‘A Man Called Ove’ is a must on this list. The novel tells the story of ‘Ove’, a grumpy old man who refuses to change with time.

His strict rules and bitterness cause his neighbors to stay away from him. One day he is forced to retire from his job that leads him to become suicidal. However, his suicide attempts fail, especially due to his new noisy and chatty neighbors.

Ove’s angry, reclusive exterior finally breaks down when the new next-door neighbor accidentally breaks his mailbox and forms an unexpected friendship. 

This unexpected friendship reveals Ove’s painful past that is beautifully captivating. I shall leave A Man Called Ove books discussion right there so you can be blown away by Ove’s moving past story and his unlikely friendship with his neighbors. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must read books like 11.22.63 in this list.

Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro

If Science fiction books like 11/22/63 and sticking to time traveling rules have thrilled you, you should waste no time getting the ‘Never Let Me Go’ by Nobel Prize winner Kazuo Ishiguro.

‘Hailsham’ is an exclusive boarding school where all the students had to follow a set of strict rules and learn all about mercurial cliques. There, ‘Tommy’, ‘Kathy’, and ‘Ruth’ grew up to believe they were special.

Tommy, Ruth, and Kathy cross paths again years later. They try to understand their gift and how it will shape their lives. The science fiction provides an atmospheric and suspenseful narrative structure.

The Wall, by John Lanchester

Are you into books like 11/22/63 that are both dystopian and speculative fantasy?

‘The Wall’ is a novel that set in the near future in Britain where people are still eating jam, go hiking in the Lake District, and send emails to each other. But this version of habitat is marred by a speculated ecological catastrophe called “The Change”.

The Wall book explores a scientific and calculated state of environmental and political anxieties like

  • rising sea levels;
  • post-Brexit situations,
  • anti-refugee populations, and
  • intergenerational dispute.

All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

From 11.22.63 book’s historic illustration, I recommend another historical fiction with an unlikely scientific twist, ‘All the Light We Cannot See’.

This fiction is set during World War II when France was occupied by German occupation. The story revolves around two protagonists, a blind French girl ‘Marie-Laure LeBlanc’ and a German orphan boy ‘Werner Pfennig’.

The two leads cross paths in a heartwarming way that I will not spoil for you. To get you emotionally blown away by the plot, I shall avoid giving an All the Light We Cannot See summary.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman

‘Jake Epping’ turned into a social misfit when he traveled back in time, and ‘Eleanor’, like him, is another recluse but refers to herself as being “completely fine”.

‘Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine’ is a novel of self-realization and a fuller understanding of life. To give you the Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine summary, I shall be breaking down the life of Eleanor, a 29-year old finance clerk working in a graphic design company in ‘Glasgow’.

Her reclusive nature earned her names like “Wacko Jacko” and “Harry Potter”. Eleanor feels infatuation with a local band singer. Her traumatic past caught up with her as she deals with loneliness and her transformation is the major beauty of the novel.

The Green Mile, by Stephen King

Are you looking for more of King’s fantasy narrative like the 11.22.63 book?

‘The Green Mile’ is a book paralleled in two different time zones as it is narrated by Paul Edgecombe, who tells his life story in 1932 as the supervisor of the death ‘The Green Mile’ nicknamed after the color of the floors.

He encounters miraculous healing abilities by ‘John Coffey’; a 6 ft. 8 tall and strong built black man who has been convicted of raping and murdering two young white girls.

The narrative switches back to 1996 in the Georgia Pines nursing home where Paul writes down John Coffey’s fate and all those who were in the infamous Green Mile.

Coming with a first-person narrative told by Paul Edgecombe, the novel switches between Paul as an old man in the Georgia Pines nursing home writing down his story in 1996, and his time in 1932 as the block supervisor of the Cold Mountain Penitentiary death row, byname “The Green Mile” for the color of the floor’s linoleum.

Lady in the Lake, by Laura Lippman

JFK’s murder mystery in 11/22/63 book was a page-turner and if you are in for more thriller and mystery books similar to 11/22/63, than go get The Lady in the Lake.

‘Lady in the Lake’ revolves around two female protagonists, ‘Maddie’ and ‘Cleo’. They are from different worlds, but their paths cross each other’s as Cleo’s body is found inside the Druid Hill Park Fountain.

Furthermore, no one pays heed to the murder mystery of a young black woman, Maddie takes the matter into her own hands and investigates Cleo’s suspicious murder.

Kindred, by Octavia E. Butler

A time travel fiction that deals with the complexity of the past’s historical events is an intriguing essence in “11.22.63” and following that I will now review Kindred by Octavia E. Butler.

‘Kindred’ tells the story of a young African-American woman writer, ‘Dana’, who finds herself being pushed in time between 1976 in California and 1815 at a pre-Civil War Maryland plantation.

When Dana travels back in time, she encounters her ancestor; a proud black woman pushed into slavery by a white planter.

Dana witnesses the dynamics of slavery and figures out to eradicate the dilemmas through the sensibility of a 20th century’s free black woman.

Bonus book of Interest

Outlander, by Diana Gabaldon

Here with other spectacular time travel books like 11 22 63, ‘Outlander’ by Diana Gabaldon.

Set in the year 1946, on the Scottish Highlands, a British ex-combat nurse ‘Claire Randall’ is on a postwar second honeymoon with her husband.

One afternoon while walking alone, Claire discovers a standing stone circle that takes her back in 1743.

Thus a modern classic begins as Claire is caught up in an intrigue of rival clans and rising armies. To survive Claire weds a gallant young Scots warrior, ‘James Fraser’. This book bundle includes:

  • OUTLANDER
  • DRAGONFLY IN AMBER
  • VOYAGER
  • DRUMS OF AUTUMN
  • THE FIERY CROSS
  • A BREATH OF SNOW AND ASHES
  • AN ECHO IN THE BONE

Outlander book series is a wonderfully narrated tale of time travel and life in 1700s Scotland.

1984, by George Orwell

Stick to the end of the list for more books like 11/22/63 to illustrate dystopian political propaganda.

‘1984’ by George Orwell, is a futuristic novel set in this very year. In this time, Great Britain is one of the ruling super-states in the world, now known as Airstrip One, a province of Oceania.

The province dictates and manipulates civilization through political propaganda, government surveillance, and perpetual wars.

A mysterious leader called ‘Big Brother’ of The Party brutally digs out anyone who does not fully go along with their regime using the Police and constant surveillance.

‘1984’ draws out the parallels between the novel’s subject matter and real-life instances of political violence against freedom. If you already this genius piece of literature and looking for more dystopian books like 1984, then check this books list.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Final Words

If you read any books like 11/22/63, won’t forget to comment below. We always love to hear from you.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

2 thoughts on “8 Enthralling Sci-fi Books Like 11/22/63”

  1. Hello there! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this website? I’m getting sick
    and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at alternatives for
    another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of
    a good platform.

    Reply

Leave a Comment