5 Great Biography Books Like A Child Called It

Listen to this article

A child called it is a book of autobiographical fiction written by Dave Pelzer. It tells the story of Dave Pelzer’s childhood and the abuse he endured at the hands of his father.

If your child has already read this book and is searching for books like A Child Called It, take this list. Here we’ve handpicked the best children’s books like A Child Call It to get your kid excited about reading. These books will teach them how to love reading, even if they haven’t enjoyed it much before.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Go Ask Alice

Anonymous

Young Adult Fiction

The Glass Castle

Jeannette Walls

Memoirs

Autobiography

My Sister’s Keeper

Jodi Picoult

Domestic Fiction

The Diary of a Young Girl

Anne Frank

Autobiography

Jewish Literature

Tuesdays with Morrie

Mitch Albom

Biographical Fiction

If you like any of these titles, please “Check The Price” so that you can keep one of these books in your library.

A Child Called It Summary

The narrative is a small miracle in that it portrays a little boy’s courage and bravery in the face of unrelenting hostility. 

It also offers an intimate view of a child’s resilience in the face of unimaginable adversity. The book shows you the perspective of the young boy as someone who is experiencing abuse for the first time. Also, it offers advice to parents on how to identify the signs of child abuse and stop it before it gets worse.

Books like A Child Called It

These books similar to A Child Called it are written by some great authors like Dave Pelzer

Go Ask Alice, by Anonymous

‘Go Ask Alice’ is a story about a teenage girl who has struggled with drugs and alcohol since she was 15. This is the diary of her thoughts, feelings, experiences, and memories of what led her to this point in her life. 

The book takes you on the journey of her highs and lows as she faces different problems that are just part of being young. If you read this book and looking for Go Ask Alice similar books, then check this list of books.

The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls

The Glass Castle is a New York Times bestseller and one of the most talked-about memoirs of the year. Jeannette Walls tells the story of her unconventional and sometimes dysfunctional family and their journey.

This beautifully written, the fast-moving novel tells how they survived as a family. Their mother was brilliant, whimsical, and feckless as she tried to raise her six children on an isolated mountain ranch in West Virginia by stealing from company stores, accepting food stamps illegally, and dealing with teenage pregnancy, abusive husbands, and too many kids with not enough money. This is one of the books to read if you like A Child Called it.

My Sister’s Keeper, by Jodi Picoult

This New York Times bestseller captures the emotional journey of one family faced with living in limbo while their youngest daughter was dying. Kate has a sister, Anna, who was conceived to be her perfect match. 

Anna undergoes marrow transplants for Kate, blood transfusions, and more but suffers from an incurable disease herself. The story deals with the idea of familial love—between sisters, parents and children, spouses. If you’re searching for My Sister’s Keeper similar books, then read these books.

The Diary of a Young Girl, by Anne Frank

The Diary of Anne Frank is the story of a young girl growing up in Nazi-occupied Europe. Anne’s life is seen through her innocent eyes; she records both the horrors and pleasures of living in confinement surrounded by death. The diary is full of Anne’s observations of her family, friends, and life during the Holocaust. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must-read books like A Child Called It in this list.

Tuesdays with Morrie, by Mitch Albom

Each Tuesday, Mitch Albom would visit his old college professor Morrie Schwartz. They would talk about life and death and everything in between every week. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Their conversations were so intimate that Mitch started recording them for one of the most memorable semesters of his life. Tuesdays with Morrie is a moving, funny, and inspiring book that takes readers on a remarkable journey from loss to love. If you like A Child Called it, this would be a great book for you.

Final Words

The best way to get a child’s perspective on any subject is to read the book as they would. Here are some books that have been praised by our readers, who have said they made them cry, laugh, and think. These books will certainly get you thinking about what it means to be a parent and give you a new perspective on the world around you.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment