Eight Insightful Books like A Clockwork Orange

Listen to this article

Do you know anyone who loves books that have never read A Clockwork Orange? It’s one of the most popular modern classics, and for a good reason. But if you’re looking for something similar to add to your reading list, here are 8 books like A Clockwork Orange.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Rating

Get This Book

Brave New World

Aldous Huxley

The Road

Cormac McCarthy

American Psycho

Bret Easton Ellis

Fahrenheit 451

Ray Bradbury

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

Ken Kesey

1984

George Orwell

Animal Farm

George Orwell

The Handmaid’s Tale

Margaret Atwood

A Clockwork Orange Summary

A Clockwork Orange is a novella written by Anthony Burgess. This book, in my opinion, is one of the best books I have ever read. The story follows Alex and his gang as they terrorize London with their crimes. But after being caught by the police, Alex undergoes an experimental treatment where he loses the ability to enjoy anything. 

Though this book was published over 50 years ago, it still has many insights into our modern world that are relevant today even though society has changed since then, for example, when you think about terrorism or how we react to violence on TV. 

Books Similar To A Clockwork Orange

Here we include eight books like A Clockwork Orange written by some great authors like Anthony Burgess.

Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

Most of us are familiar with the 1931 novel Brave New World written by Aldous Huxley. The story is set in a future society where citizens are kept in line through strict controls and conformity. You may not know that the novel was actually based on Huxley’s nightmares about the future. In a recently unearthed essay. Huxley discusses his fears about several tech developments that could lead to this type of dystopian society.

If you’re interested in learning more about Huxley’s thoughts on the modern world or just want a good read, check out the link below. Moreover, here are ten dystopian fiction books related to Brave New World to read. Check this list.

The Road, by Cormac McCarthy

The Road depicts a desolate, frightening world in which people have devolved into their worst selves. It’s one of the darkest books we’ve ever read, yet it forced us to take a fresh look at ourselves. 

In a nation so post-apocalyptic that even the apocalypse itself is barely remembered, a nameless father is determined to carry his little kid to safety. Cormac McCarthy is far from a pessimist. This adventure is fueled by a glimmer of obstinate hope even at its darkest moments.

American Psycho, by Bret Easton Ellis

If you’re looking for a book to read, this might be the one. American Psycho is about a man who has everything he could ever want. But he still feels like something is missing in his life. He becomes obsessed with materialism and living up to society’s standards of success until he finally crosses the line and commits horrifying crimes. 

Written by Bret Easton Ellis, this novel will make you question what it really means to be successful in our society today.

Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451 was published in 1953. It tells the story of Guy Montag, a fireman who begins to question his role as an arsonist after meeting Clarisse McClellan, one of the few remaining “sane” people. 

The novel presents some ideas about society and how it could be improved through censorship and control of what people are exposed to, but also on individualism versus conformity. Undoubtedly, this is one of the best books like A Clockwork Orange on this list.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, by Ken Kesey

This book, which many consider to be one of America’s greatest novels, tells the story of a mental hospital patient named Randle P. McMurphy and his battle against Big Nurse. It explores themes such as power dynamics and individualism that are still relevant today. It spawned a Broadway play and an Award-winning Academy film starring Jack Nicholson in its wake. 

The novel was written in 1962. But it has only gained its fame post-publication with help from other media outlets like these ones!

1984, by George Orwell

George Orwell’s 1984 is a novel that was written in 1949. The book has been on the New York Times bestseller list for more than three years. It has sold over 25 million copies. It tells the story of Winston Smith. He is an employee of the Ministry of Truth who lives in London, England, under total government surveillance (Big Brother). 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Winston thinks about rebelling against Big Brother by keeping a diary or joining one of two anti-government political groups he knows about: the Brotherhood and the Brotherhood. But he realizes that if either group were ever caught, it would bring terrible punishment on his closest friends. So instead, he just hates them both from afar. If you like A Clockwork Orange, This book will hook you till the end.

Animal Farm, by George Orwell

Animal Farm was first published in 1945. It tells the story of a group of animals who rebel against their human farmer, hoping to create a society where the animals can be equal, free, and happy. 

The book is a metaphor for the Russian Revolution. It’s been called one of the most important novels of the 20th century. If you’re into books that are both thought-provoking and entertaining, Animal Farm is definitely worth your time. In addition, we include these twelve similar books to Animal Farm. Check them to collect one that match with your interest.

The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood

It’s a book that was published in 1985 and it takes place in a dystopian future where women are oppressed. I just finished reading it and I have to say, it was absolutely amazing. If you’re a fan of books like 1984 or Brave New World, then you’ll definitely enjoy this one. I highly recommend picking up a copy!

Final Words

I hope you’ve found this list of eight books like A Clockwork Orange useful. Please let me know if you have any other recommendations for great novels in the same vein! Happy reading. Remember to check out The Price before making your purchase decision on these books. Have a happy holiday season, and see you next year!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment