5 Read-Alike Biography Books Like A Million Little Pieces

Listen to this article

“A Million Little Pieces” is a book about a man’s journey through addiction and recovery. The novel is written in a way that makes it easy to read, but it also has powerful and detailed scenes. The book has been praised for having well-developed characters and a realistic look at addiction. It is a great choice for people who want to read a book that goes into the depths of human emotions.

If you’re looking for a book that will stay with you long, like A Million Little Pieces, then here are five books similar to it. 

A Million Little Pieces Summary

A Million Little Pieces is an unconventional, raw, and sometimes disturbing autobiography that has become a cult classic. Frey tells his story in fascinating detail and asks us to lower our expectations of what it means to be honest. He pulls no punches when it comes to detailing sexual misdemeanors, unspeakable acts of violence, and deep-seated depression.

A Million Little Pieces has struck a deep chord with readers because it doesn’t just show how someone became addicted to drugs or alcohol. It also shows how addiction takes over your life, forcing you into a brutally small world where nothing else matters.

Books Like A Million Little Pieces

Here I include 5 books that match with the theme of A Million Little Pieces, either written by some great authors like James Frey or written in biography genre.

Running with Scissors, by Augusten Burroughs

Augusten Burroughs, an American writer, wrote the comedy novel Running with Scissors. The story is about a young man’s childhood and his dysfunctional family. Especially his father, who becomes an alcoholic and beats him, his mother, who would rather go to bed than talk to her husband, and his older brother, who bullies him.

Eventually, the protagonist realizes how much he has suffered at home and so ventures out into the world to find himself. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must reads like A Million Little Pieces. In addition, to read Running with Scissors similar books, check these list.

She’s Come Undone, by Wally Lamb

The main character of this book is a woman named Dolores Price. The book is written with compassion and understanding, as well as wit and humor. It’s one of Oprah Winfrey’s favorite books because it’s so well written. Dolores Price was born in 1949 into a stable but unhappy family. But she didn’t know that until she got older and her life fell apart around her.

Water for Elephants, by Sara Gruen

The book consists of reflections on the memories that changed Jacob Jankowski forever, on ordinary betrayals, cruelty, and violence that are part of daily life; on relationships that are challenged by an insular world; and on some animals that are more human than even some humans. If you’re a fan of A Million Little Pieces, this book is sure to keep you hooked from beginning to end.

Eat, Pray, Love: One Woman’s Search for Everything Across Italy, India and Indonesia by Elizabeth Gilbert

Gilbert is raw and honest about how she feels alone and left out, but she also enjoys the beauty that she finds everywhere she goes. With its amazing lessons of hope, the book Eat Pray Love will change your life. This is another interesting book on this list that is like a million little pieces.

Tuesdays with Morrie, by Mitch Albom

Reading Tuesdays with Morrie is fun and will teach you a huge number of important lessons about life. Morrie is a wise old man who has a lot to teach Mitch. Morrie shows Mitch how to handle hard things in life, like death. Morrie also tells Mitch about his life, his work, what he knows about the world, and how he thinks people should live.

Tuesday with Morrie
Image from @thepaintedphrases

Each meeting teaches Mitch something new about life and death. They talk about how to live with meaning, what love is, and how to be at peace with oneself. Without a doubt, one of the best biography books like A Million Little Pieces. It will make you think about your life through the pages until the very end.

Final Words: 

Although they are all different in terms of their content, these five books share a commonality in that they are all brutally honest and tell the story of one’s life in a raw and compelling way. If you enjoyed A Million Little Pieces, then I highly recommend checking out these five books as well.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment