10 Captivating Books Like All the Bright Places

Listen to this article

We have a list for those of you who loved All the Bright Places. These books are full of the same heart and hope as All the Bright Places and will bring joy to your reading experience. 

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

They Both Die at the End

Adam Silvera

Young Adult Fiction

Adventure fiction

Looking for Alaska

John Green

Young Adult Fiction

Everything, Everything

Nicola Yoon

Young Adult Fiction

The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Stephen Chbosky

Bildungsroman

Young Adult Fiction

The Fault in Our Stars

John Green

Young Adult Fiction

Paper Towns

John Green

Mystery

Young Adult Fiction

Eleanor & Park

Rainbow Rowell

Fiction

Romance

Five Feet Apart

Rachael Lippincott

Romance

If I Stay

Gayle Forman

Young Adult Fiction

Wonder

R.J. Palacio

Children's literature

Fiction

From contemporary romance to contemporary fiction, these books cover a variety of genres and topics that will help you through your day or night.

All the Bright Places Summary

Two teenagers with mental illness, pain, and confusion find the strength to carry on in this heart-wrenching novel. Though Theodore Finch is unequivocally dark–he attempts dual thwarted suicide missions at once!–Jennifer Niven maintains her trademark humor while revealing honesty about struggles many people can’t face head-on without support from friends or family members.

Though there are beautiful moments that will make readers smile even if their hearts aren’t quite broken yet because these characters are still figuring out what happiness really means.

Books similar to All the Bright Places

These books are written by some great authors like Jennifer Niven.

They Both Die at the End, by Adam Silvera

It’s a truth universally acknowledged that anyone who reads books is obsessed with them. We have grown up reading about young love, forbidden friendships, and friends’ adventures on long quests. 

They both die at the End is a book that follows two boys named Mateo and Rufus during their final day alive. This novel has an interesting premise because it explores what would happen if you had one day to live? 

Looking for Alaska, by John Green

This is a really intriguing and thought-provoking novel that will keep your attention from Beginning to End. It’s about a boy named Miles who goes away from his hometown to go to a boarding school in Alabama called Culver Creek Academy. What happens next is what makes it such an addicting story, but I won’t spoil anything for you.

Everything, Everything, by Nicola Yoon

If you’re a book reader or lover, then you know that there are some books similar to All the Bright Places that just stay with you long after you finish reading them. “Everything, Everything” is one of those books. The unique story about a girl who is allergic to the world will make you think about life in a whole new way. Whether you loved it or hated it, this book is definitely worth reading. 

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

This cult favorite, told in a series of letters and set at the turn of the 2000, follows young Michael as he begins high school shortly after his best buddy commits suicide. The volatility and pain of transitioning from childhood to adult worries are vividly captured in Stephen Chbosky’s colorful novel. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

The Perks of Being a Wallflower will evoke deep emotions related to first loves, family strife, and discovering what it means to be lonely, regardless of your age. In addition, here are 12 books to read if you like Perks of Being a Wallflower.

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

Hazel has always been terminal despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has extended her life by a few years. Her ultimate chapter was written when she was diagnosed. When Augustus Waters, a lovely narrative twist, shows up at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely changed.

Paper Towns, by John Green

After reading Paper Towns, we’re even more convinced than ever that John Green is a superstar in the realm of young adult fiction. Quentin Jacobsen, a high school senior, is in love with Margo Roth Spiegelman, his enigmatic next-door neighbor, in this insightful and amusing story. Quentin embarks on an epic and eye-opening search trip when Margo vanishes. 

Green, the author of the mega-hit The Fault in Our Stars, has a flair for writing people who are so genuine you’ll swear you’ve met them all.

Eleanor & Park, by Rainbow Rowell

This is not your typical young adult love story. Eleanor & Park, tells the tale of two misfits in high school who find each other and fall in love. The novel covers their relationship from the first time they meet on a bus to when they are sixteen years old and about to graduate high school.  

Eleanor has never had friends before she meets Park–he takes her under his wing and shows her what it’s like to be popular at school, while Park deals with the consequences of being an Asian-American kid attending an all-white private school. This book is short but sweet, giving readers a glimpse into how someone can change another person’s life just by showing up for them when no one else does.

Five Feet Apart, by Rachael Lippincott

A heartwarming and heartbreaking love story about two teenagers who meet and fall in love while they are both living with cystic fibrosis. They make a pact to stay five feet apart at all times so as not to spread their disease, but what will happen when life throws them curveballs that bring them closer together? 

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman

If I Stay is a young adult novel that follows protagonist Mia as she faces the difficult decision to stay with her family or leave them behind. The reader will experience Mia’s dilemma and can’t help but sympathize with her – leaving one’s family for another life is never an easy choice, especially when you have been so close to your own. With its fast-paced storyline, If I Stay will keep readers on their toes and guessing what happens next.

Wonder, by R.J. Palacio

Wonder is one of those books that will take hold of you and never let go. Written by Raquel J. Palacio, Wonder tells the story of Auggie Pullman, a young boy with facial differences who enters the fifth grade for the first time. Told from multiple perspectives, Wonder is a heartwarming and unforgettable story about strength, courage, and friendship. If you’re looking for a book that will make you laugh and cry, Wonder is definitely worth reading.

Final Words

After reading All the Bright Places, you may be looking for more books with similar themes. Here are 10 great reads that will help you get through your next emotional book hangover.

Have any of these titles helped you? Which one is your favorite? Leave us a comment below and tell us what other recommendations we should add to this list.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment