5 Young Adult Fiction Books Like Among The Hidden

Listen to this article

Are you looking for young adult fiction books like Among The Hidden? Want to read more books that are quite similar in genre and story.

‘Among The Hidden’ was first published in 1998. This book is called a chilling and intelligent novel and won many awards in the children category.

We researched “Dystopian Fiction” and “Science Fiction” genre and find some books for you. If you like any of these book’s title, then “Check The Price” so that you can add one to your cart.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

The City Of Ember

Jeanne DuPrau

Science Fiction

Children's Literature

Hatchet

Gary Paulsen

Young Adult Fiction

Adventure Fiction

Because of Winn-Dixie

Kate DiCamillo

Young Adult Fiction

Children's Literature

Soft Rain

Cornelia Cornelissen

Science Fiction

Maniac Magee

Jerry Spinelli

Young Adult Fiction

Let’s begin reviewing ‘Among The Hidden’ and more books like Among The Hidden.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Summary of Among The Hidden

‘Among The Hidden’ by Margaret Peterson Haddix is the first book among the 7 books in the shadow children series.

I get the impression that this is a near-future dystopia at some point. In the future, there’s been some sort of population crisis and the government has put into place a population law that only allows families to have two children in order for there to be enough food for everyone.

Among The Hidden

Among the hidden tells the story of ‘Luke Garner’, a third child. As a third child, he must be kept hidden otherwise his parents will be punished and he will be killed. ‘Among The hidden’ book is told from Luke’s point of view. Usually, things weren’t so bad for Luke because his family lives on a farm and they’re fairly isolated. They had big woods behind their house.

So, Luke could go outside and play with his brothers and experience the outdoors. But then the government came and brought up the woods behind his family’s house, cut the trees down, and built housing development. At that point, Luke is not allowed to leave the house anymore. He’s not allowed downstairs out of his attic bedroom.

Because they don’t want his shadow scene in the windows. So, Luke has confined to his windows bedroom and he’s desperately peering out these little slats in the roof’s ventilation. Luke hates to be hidden and also gets seriously bored.

Suddenly, one day looking out of the window, he finds a girl in a house where there are already two children living. Is she another shadow child like Luke? Read Among the Hidden and other books of the ‘Among The Hidden series’.

5 Similar Books Like Among The Hidden

Here are the 5 similar books similar to Among The Hidden for young adult fiction lovers –

The City Of Ember, By Jeanne DuPrau

Get it on Apple Books

Imagine you live in a world in complete darkness. No sunshine, sunrises, and sunsets. No moon even at night to guide you. Imagine the only light you have is by the string of light bulbs throughout the street and they keep going out.

‘City of Ember’ was published in 2003 by Jeanne Duprau. It’s a sci-fi fantasy adventure book about this post-apocalyptic world and this girl named ‘Lina’. She is one of the cities of ember’s characters, lives her life here in the city.

This city was created for its inhabitants to survive for the next 200 years. They had enough supplies and a generator and all the things that they would need to survive for 200 years.

The builders of this city created instructions for what to do after 200 years in the city because the supplies wouldn’t be lasting much longer. These instructions are put in a lockbox for the mayor to keep track of it. Only the mayor knew about them. The mayor was supposed to pass them on to the next mayor in that matter to the next mayor and so on and so forth.

Now, Two centuries later, this box is in the hands of a mayor who is terminally ill. He’s trying desperately to break into this box to figure out the instructions but he fails. He doesn’t get into the box and then he passes away and the boxes are lost and forgotten and no one knows of these instructions they were supposed to get.

Ember has been around for 241 years and supplies are starting to run low. These lights that they’ve strung up which run on a hydroelectric generator this generator isn’t working at 100 percent anymore. Would they find the book? Could they survive? Read  2003’s child magazine’s best children’s book ‘The City Of Ember’

Hatchet, by Gary Paulsen

‘Hatchet’ by Gary Paulsen is about a young boy and his experience after his plane crashed down in the middle of a very dense bit of woods. So, he’s out in the middle of nowhere and the pilot that he was with is dead now.

He is alone in the woods and out there with nothing but the clothes on his back and a hatchet that his mom gave. It is his story of survival.

Because of Winn-Dixie, by Kate DiCamillo

It’s a story about a girl named ‘Opal’ who has just moved to the state of Florida. When she finds a dirty, ugly mutt causing chaos at the supermarket, named the dog by the name of the supermarket ‘Winn-Dixie’.

She took the dog to her father ‘The preacher’ who let opal keep the dog. They soon become best friends and do everything together. Winn-dixie smiles at everyone he meets and helps Opal to make friends with them. To see how Opal and Winn-dixie meet and to find out the adventures they go on, you’ll have to read the rest of Winn-dixie book. Additionally, here are seven books to read if you like Because of Winn-Dixie

Soft Rain, by Cornelia Cornelissen

‘Soft Rain’ is about a 9-year-old girl from North Carolina who has no clue her whole life was about to change. Without warning, the white man came bursting through the door. Separated from friends and family they are forced to travel by foot and wagon.

They meet severe conditions towards the west. Many don’t survive the severe conditions such as hunger exhaustion in harsh weather. Well, soft rain or her mom makes it to the west. Will they reunite with their family? Read the Native American story to find out.

Maniac Magee, by Jerry Spinelli

‘Maniac Magee’ by Jerry Spinelli it’s all about running. This book is all about a teenage boy ‘Jeffery McGee’ who runs away from home and never stops to look back.

He keeps running until he ends up in a town that is split by east and west. These are split along racial lines. White people live on the east side and black people live on the west side and they rarely cross over into each other’s words as. The story follows Maniac Magee as he runs from his problems, encounters different people of all ages and races from both sides of the town. Making friends and enemies along the way but ultimately changing the lives of the people he meets after.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

This is a touching story that deals with a pretty important life lesson that human beings are human beings. It also doesn’t matter about the color of your skin. Although sometimes you want to run for your problems, sometimes it’s better to stand up and face them.

Final Words From Us

Have you read any similar books like Among The Hidden. If you do, feel free to comment below. If you like this article, don’t forget to share it with your friends. Thank you.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment