12 Must-Read Dystopian Fiction Books like Animal Farm and 1984

Listen to this article

Animal Farm is a book written by George Orwell. It was first published in 1945, and it has been translated into over seventy languages. 

The story starts as an allegory of the Russian Revolution but later becomes more complex as Napoleon’s rise parallels that of Stalin, making Animal Farm feel like a historical account and a personal commentary on Joseph Stalin. In this blog post, we will take a look at 12 books Like Animal Farm. Check The Price if you want to add any of these book to your collection.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

1984

George Orwell

Dystopian Fiction

Political Fiction

The Great Gatsby

F. Scott Fitzgerald

Historical Fiction

To Kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee

SociaSouthern Gothic

Dystopian Fiction

The Catcher in the Rye

J.D. Salinger

First-person narrative

Bildungsroman

Fahrenheit 451

Ray Bradbury

Political Fiction

Dystopian Fiction

Of Mice and Men

John Steinbeck

Tragedy

Fiction

Brave New World

Aldous Huxley

Dystopian Fiction

Science Fiction

Pride and Prejudice

Jane Austen

Romance

Historical Fiction

Romeo and Juliet

William Shakespeare

Tragedy

The Metamorphosis

Franz Kafka

Absurdist Fiction

Fantasy Fiction

The Old Man and The Sea

Ernest Hemingway

Nautical Fiction

Allegory

The Alchemist

Paulo Coelho

Fantasy Fiction

Animal Farm Summary

Animal Farm is an allegory of the rise of communism in the Soviet Union. It tells the story of a group of animals who rebel against their human farmer and establish their own society based on Animalism. 

However, the ideals of Animalism quickly degenerate, and society falls into tyranny. The novel is a warning against the dangers of totalitarianism and dictatorship.

Books Like Animal Farm

Here we include twelve books similar to Animal Farm that some great author like George Orwell writes.

1984, by George Orwell

1984 is a dystopian novel set in a future where war is a daily occurrence. Winston Smith, the protagonist, rebels against the all-powerful party.

Winston gradually realizes that his love for words and truth is more powerful than any system – even if it means risking his life to do so. Even in democratic democracies, this book warns readers about the perils of living under a monolithic leadership. If you have already read this book, check these books similar to 1984.

The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

“The Great Gatsby” is a novel that tells the story of socialite Jay Gatsby and his unrequited love for the beautiful Daisy Buchanan

Although it was written in 1925, “Gatsby” still remains one of the most read and discussed books like Animal Farm and 1984 in America today. The book offers readers a glimpse into what life might have been like during 1920’s New York City while also exploring themes such as –

  • wealth,
  • class distinction,
  • aspiration, and
  • obsession.

To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee

In the 1930s, Harper Lee wrote a novel that would go on to be one of the most influential pieces of literature in American history. 

The book tells a story about a small town in Alabama called Maycomb and how its residents react when an African-American man is accused of raping a white woman. Atticus Finch is our protagonist here, and he stands up for his beliefs against all odds. Written in the bildungsroman genre, this is one of the must-read novels like Animal Farm on this list. Additionally, we make a list of To Kill a Mockingbird Similar books. Check them…

The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye is a novel written by J.D. Salinger and published in 1951. It tells the story of 17-year-old Holden Caulfield, expelled from his prep school and then takes off on a journey around New York City. 

The book has become a classic for readers of all ages, and it’s easy to see why— Holden’s narration is witty and engaging, and his story is full of memorable characters and hilarious moments. If you’re looking for an interesting read, be sure to check out The Catcher in the Rye similar books.

Fahrenheit 451, by Ray Bradbury

What is your favorite book? Chances are if you’re a book lover, Fahrenheit 451 is on that list. This timeless classic tells the story of a future where books are outlawed and “firemen” burn if they found any. 

But what does it say about our society that we’ve read this book so many times? Bradbury’s exploration of censorship and its effects is more relevant than ever. 

Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck

This classic novel is set in the 1930s and tells the story of two migrant workers, George and Lennie, traveling from job to job in search of stability and security. 

Along the way, they encounter all sorts of heart-wrenching challenges but ultimately learn some valuable lessons about friendship, loyalty, and courage. If you’re looking for an engaging read similar to Animal Farm that will make you think about life’s big questions, then be sure to check out “Of Mice and Men.” If you’re looking for of Mice and Men similar books, check this list now.

Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley

Brave New World is a warning for the future. The novel depicts a society in which people are controlled by their addictions to soma and where reproduction is managed by genetic engineering, both of which allow the government to dictate who lives and dies. 

Image from @daniallreads

In this world, there’s no religion or freedom. You’re just born into your caste from birth with nothing more than the clothes on your back and what you can carry around with you. Undoubtedly, this is one of the staple books to read after animal Farm.

Pride and Prejudice, by Jane Austen

Pride and Prejudice is one of the most famous books in the world. It’s also a common misconception that it’s just about romance. When in fact, it has an intriguing storyline with many other themes to explore.

The novel follows protagonist Elizabeth Bennet as she deals with issues such as

  • economic status,
  • education system,
  • gender roles, and
  • societal expectations.

It also explores how these issues affect her relationships with family members and friends throughout the course of her life. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

You’ll find yourself rooting for characters like Mr. Darcy, who are often overshadowed by their more popular counterparts like Mr. Wickham or Jane Austen herself.

Romeo and Juliet, by William Shakespeare

Verona, Italy’s second-largest city, is plagued by street violence. The rivalry between the Capulets and the Montagues, two powerful and affluent families, has devolved into an all-out war. 

However, when Romeo, a young Montague heir, enters into a Capulet party, he encounters with Juliet, the Capulets’ daughter. The two embark on a love affair that is doomed from the start but beautiful enough to overcome fate.

The Metamorphosis, by Franz Kafka

The Metamorphosis is a novel by Franz Kafka. The story tells the tale of traveling salesman Gregor Samsa who wakes up one day to find he has turned into an insect-like creature. This novel was written in 1914, and it’s just as relevant today, with its themes that are still very much alive in our world today:

  • alienation,
  • unemployment,
  • family tensions.

If you’re looking for books with similar tone, check this five novels like The Metamorphosis

The Old Man and the Sea, by Ernest Hemingway

If you’re a book reader or lover, then you’ve probably read The Old Man and the Sea at some point in your life. It’s a classic novel that tells the story of an old fisherman and his journey out to sea. 

Many readers have different interpretations of the ending, but I think it’s safe to say that it’s a story about strength, determination, and hope. Regardless of what you think about the ending, The Old Man and the Sea is definitely worth reading. Without a doubt, this is one of the best classic books related to animal farm.

The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho

The Alchemist is a book about Santiago, an Andalusian shepherd boy who takes his sheep to the fields in the morning to find treasure. 

Along his journey, he meets different people and learns valuable lessons from them about life, love, and wisdom. He has many obstacles in front of him on his journey, but he never gives up because he believes that there are no such things as impossible odds. 

The Alchemist
Image from @brainboostreading

Santiago goes through many hardships throughout this story but always find himself back at the same place where everything started, which was home. This book will teach you how to find your true self while following your dreams. The Alchemist is one of the staple books like Animal Farm and 1984.

Final Words:

Animal Farm might be one of the most popular books among school children, but many other worthwhile reads for kids and adults alike. Check out these 11 titles that will have you laughing, learning about animals in a whole new way, or simply enjoying some great literature. The ending is up to you!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment