7 Great Biographical Books Like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Listen to this article

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas is a classic that speaks volumes about the culture of consumption and excesses of consumerism while also celebrating a time when people had a sense of adventure.

If you have already read this book and searched for similar books, take this list. At the beginning of our list, we thought about the new and great novel that we should include. In the end, it was so hard to pick only seven books like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas because there are too many good books that can be included.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Gonzo: The Life of Hunter S. Thompson

Jann S. Wenner

Biography

The Basketball Diaries

Jim Carroll

Biography

On the Road

Jack Kerouac

Autobiographical novel

The Catcher in the Rye

J.D. Salinger

First-person narrative

Bildungsroman

A Clockwork Orange

Anthony Burgess

Dystopian Fiction

One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest

Ken Kesey

Psychological Fiction

The Girl on the Train

Paula Hawkins

Psychological Fiction

Mystery

If you like any of these titles, then “Check The Price” and keep one of these books to your collection.

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas Summary

Fear and loathing in Las Vegas tells the story of journalist Raoul Duke on his quest to find the American dream on drugs. The reader follows him as he travels with his lawyer Dr. Gonzo through the desert on their way to Las Vegas. 

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas book
Image from @alizardreads

Along this journey, Duke encounters many things that he never foresaw happening on his trip. This is a story of a fast-paced, frenzied, and wild ride through the drug culture of the 1970s. Undoubtedly, a must-read for anyone who likes an adrenaline rush mixed with some introspection on society’s hypocritical ways.

Books Like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas

Here are some books written by some great authors like Hunter S. Thompson.

Gonzo: The Life of Hunter S. Thompson, by Jann S. Wenner

Get it on Apple Books

The story of the restless son of a West Virginia doctor who became a nationally recognized writer, credited with creating the “New Journalism” movement of the 1960s and 1970s. This is a personal and professional portrait of a man who lived life on his own terms, in his own inimitable style, and whose work continues to resonate with new generations. 

Hunter S. Thompson broke new ground across an array of genres from journalism to poetry, from nonfiction to the novel. If you like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, this would a great book to know about Hunter S. Thompson.

The Basketball Diaries, by Jim Carroll

Jim Carroll tells the story of his teenage years in New York City from the late 1960s to the early 1970s. Few people knew about the life he was leading-carousing with a small gang of friends through a world of drugs, sex, and violence. 

His journey is a harrowing roller coaster ride–from childhood innocence to middle-class adolescence to junkie adulthood. Carroll brings us face to face with the dark side of living that has been going on since time immemorial–the battle between good and evil.

On the Road, by Jack Kerouac

On the Road is an adventure novel about a young man and his experience traveling the country searching for meaning in his life. The novel stands as a classic testament to the power of self-reliance, discipline, and Thoreau’s assertion that “the mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation”. 

It’s also one of the first examples in American literature of stream-of-consciousness writing style. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must-read staple books like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas in this list.

The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye is an important coming-of-age story that has become a literary classic. Written in 1951, The Catcher in the Rye remains one of the most revered and controversial novels of our time, with its insights into the complex world of teenagers; their confusion about self-image, cultural identity, sexuality, responsibility, loss, anger, and death. This is one of the books to read after finishing Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

A Clockwork Orange, by Anthony Burgess

A Clockwork Orange book follows the life of protagonist Alex, a teenager living in near-future Britain, who gleefully commits acts of ultraviolence as he travels joyfully through the countryside with his gang of teenage hooligans. Suppressing any form of pleasure, these rigidly controlled citizens are assigned common employment positions based on their personality traits.

One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, by Ken Kesey

The story features many memorable characters: Big Nurse Ratched, who runs things on the ward with her cold discipline and her backbreaking electroshock therapy; Randle Patrick McMurphy, a rebellious patient who tries to cheer up the rest of the patients with his wit and scams.

This is a story that exposes to readers what it’s like to live in a mental hospital and the abuses that take place there. Without a doubt, this is one of the great books similar to Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas.

The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins

This is a suspenseful novel about an alcoholic who rides the commuter train every day and creates an elaborate fantasy about one of her fellow commuters. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Told from three perspectives, this novel will have you guessing until the very end. This is perfect for readers who are looking for something different with strong characters that are easy to relate to. Undoubtedly, one of the must read books similar to Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas on this list.

Final Words

Now that you’ve seen our list of the best books like Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, we’d love to hear what your favorite book is. Check out our website for more information on each book. Do you have any other suggestions? Let us know in the comments below.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment