9 classic Books Like Huckleberry Finn

Listen to this article

Twain was a great author with an amazing ability to create compelling characters and situations. In this story, each character has a different personality that highlights specific societal problems, particularly hypocrisy and gullibility. The adventure of Huckleberry Finn book was published first in 1884 in England and later published in The United States in 1885.

The conflict between civilized society and natural life, which in Huck’s perspective represents freedom of spirit and a wish to escape civilization. This is the central theme of The adventure of Huckleberry Finn. Here in this article, we will share with you 10 classic books like the adventure of Huckleberry Finn. Some great authors like Mark Twain wrote these books.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Oscar Wilde

Gothic Fiction

Philosophical Fiction

To kill a Mockingbird

Harper Lee

Bildungsroman

Coming-of-age Story

Little Women

Louisa May Alcott 

Historical Fiction

Biographical Fiction

The Count of Monte Cristo

Alexandre Dumas

Adventure Fiction

Nautical Fiction

Jane Eyre

Charlotte Bronte 

Gothic Fiction

Social Criticism

Moby Dick

Herman Melville

Nautical Fiction

Adventure Fiction

Lord of The Flies

William Golding

Allegory

Psychological Fiction

Wuthering Heights

Emily Bronte

Gothic Fiction

Tragedy

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass

Lewis Carroll  

Children's Literature

Fantasy Fiction

If you like any of these books, then “Check The Price” or share this article on your timeline so that you won’t regret finding it later.

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn Summary

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn is a direct sequel to The Adventures of Tom Sawyer. As we begin the story, we find Huckleberry Finn being raised by widow Douglas, Miss Watson and other adults trying to civilize him.

Huck’s dad ‘pap’ shows up and demands Huck’s money which he had acquired in the last book and was being held at the bank. The local judge ‘Thatcher’ and the widow tried to get legal custody of Huck. But a new judge thinks his dad can change from the junker he is now to a new man. That plan fails, and Pap returns to his old ways and kidnaps Huck. Huck escapes from his dad by faking his death and has everyone believing that some thieves murdered him. 

While hiding out on an island in the middle of the Mississippi River, Huck finds Jim. Jim was a slave who had run away from Miss Watson, and Huck had to choose whether to turn Jim in or protect and help his friend instead. After some thinking, he decides to help Jim. They camp out on an island to leave. Then they then set out on the raft down Mississippi, intending to make it to the Ohio River, where they would set up north to the free states on a steamboat. 

However, they missed the Ohio River and encountered some men on a wreck steamboat looking for the escaped slave. Huck lies to them by telling them his father is on his raft and suffering from smallpox. 

Books Like The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn 

The picture of Dorian Gray, By Oscar Wilde

We’re not sure if you’ll love or hate this fascinating novel, but one thing is certain: The Picture of Dorian Gray will have you glued to the page for hours.

The story revolves around a sensitive young guy who inherits a great fortune and becomes a notorious figure of evil and depravity. Oscar Wilde takes the reader on a journey from the heights of aestheticism to the deathbeds of decadence and moral degradation. Written in a thoughtful and penetrating way, this portrayal of a Faustian deal and its consequences will dazzle anyone who picks up this book. 

To kill a Mockingbird, By Harper Lee

This is a truly compelling book that delves into the fundamentals of human behavior with drama and compassion. Lee’s unique work mixes together conflicting feelings of love and hatred, humor and sadness, kindness and brutality.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

All wrapped up in a man’s never-ending search for justice, which is plagued by prejudice, hypocrisy, and violence.

Little Women, By Louisa May Alcott 

From her own life experience, the author was inspired to write this delightful novel. The story takes set in New England in the mid-nineteenth century. Four sisters demonstrate their love and dedication while overcoming the hardships brought on by the Civil War.

Readers have contemplated the eternal themes of love, death, and the conflict between personal ambition and family responsibility as they have read this story. Alcott had an amazing ability to point out the flaws in society when it came to how women fit in and how they, too, can contribute to everyone’s suffering.

The Count of Monte Cristo, By Alexandre Dumas

This is a novel with a tremendously powerful good-versus-evil conflict. Dumas makes use of every available tool to create a gripping drama.

Love, suspense, intrigue, vengeance, the triumph of good over evil, and a hero whose life is turned upside down as a result of his acts. Almost every reader may take something from the story’s moral or the characters and apply it to their own lives. If you hesitate about what to read after Count of Monte Cristo, take this book list.

Jane Eyre, By Charlotte Bronte 

Once you enter the terrible world of our heroine, Jane Eyre, this famous classic almost promises that every reader will drop a tear or two. As you follow Jane’s journey, you’ll notice her remarkable strength, which she employs in her long struggle for dignity and self-respect.

Bronte wrote a fantastic novel filled with numerous lessons learned through Jane Eyre’s tough life. Jane Eyre is one of the books like Huckleberry Finn as both of the books make some argument in the favor of social criticism.

Moby Dick, By Herman Melville

Even the most powerful people in the world, such as Steve Jobs, Barack Obama, Morgan Freeman, Oprah, and the list goes on, are fans of this book. This fantastic novel chronicles the odyssey of a man on a quest for vengeance. Our protagonist’s obsession with capturing the white whale that bit off a piece of his leg turns him into a beast incapable of leading his crew.

Without their captain’s guidance, they are forced to rely on one another. There are many great lessons to take away from this timeless novel, some of which 

“Knowing when to quit because there’s always a new opportunity on the horizon” and 

“To avoid herd-like mentality which can often be a very dangerous thing.” 

Lord of The Flies, By William Golding

Lord of the Flies is a terrifying story. It explores the depths of human nature and what occurs when societal boundaries are broken. When a group of boys find themselves stranded on an island, they first celebrate their freedom from adults and responsibilities. However, as time passes, reality creeps in.

The central conflict here is a fierce conflict between the desires to follow the rules, act peacefully, and value the well-being of all.

Wuthering Heights, By Emily Bronte

Wuthering Heights is without a doubt one of the most powerful and soul-stirring love stories ever written. Heathcliff, a troubled orphan, and his ill-fated love for a woman who betrays him. Their encounter, filled with searing wrath and passion, will resonate for years after they are gone.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland & Through the Looking-Glass, By Lewis Carroll  

Both of these books share with the reader the exploits of a spirited young girl who ventures into a whimsical world where anything seems possible, and nothing seems real. First came The adventure of The Wonderland. Then through the looking glass, and both are part of Alice Lyndell’s identity and maturation process.

In Alice in Wonderland, the author helps the reader understand the struggle of what it’s like for a child to live in a confusing world of adults. While An Alice Through The Looking-Glass, Carol shows Alice’s bewilderment at understanding the rules of the grown-up world.  

Final Words From Us

These are the nine books to read if you like Huckleberry Finn. If you have read any classic books like Huckleberry Finn, share your thought in the comment section.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment