Seven Fantasy Fiction Books Like Kafka On The Shore

Listen to this article

If you’re looking for a mind-bending read, Kafka on the Shore is a great place to start. Although it’s not an easy book to put down, you might find yourself wanting more after you finish. If that’s the case, here are seven books like Kafka on the Shore that will keep you hooked until the last page. 

Each of these novels is unique in its own way, but they all share the common characteristic of being unforgettable reads. So if you’re in the mood for something equally as captivating as Kafka on the Shore, be sure to check out one of these titles. You won’t regret it.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Norwegian Wood

Haruki Murakami 

Bildungsroman

No Longer Human

Osamu Dazai

Children's literature

Young Adult Fiction

The Metamorphosis

Franz Kafka

History Fiction

Psychological Thriller

The Stranger

Albert Camus

Absurdist Fiction

Existential Fiction

One Hundred Years of Solitude

Gabriel García Márquez

Magical Realism

Epic Fiction

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Oscar Wilde

Philosophical Fiction

Gothic Fiction

Convenience Store Woman

Sayaka Murata

Fiction

Kafka on the Shore Summary

“Kafka on the Shore” is a novel by Japanese writer Haruki Murakami, published in Japan in 2002 and later translated into English by Philip Gabriel. The story begins with a young boy named Kafka Tamura running away from home for not initially explained reasons. He arrives at a small shoreline village and befriends an older girl named Nakata and her grandmother. 

Kafka On The Shore
Image from @relovereads

Nakata is said to have “the sight”, and can communicate with cats, among other things. She is described as being mentally impaired, but she has a special connection to the world of spirits, which is why she was able to meet Kafka.

Books Like Kafka on the Shore

If you like Kafka on The Shore, this are the seven must read books to read.

Norwegian Wood, Haruki Murakami 

If you love reading and have a deep passion for books, then this is the post for you. I will be talking about Haruki Murakami’s novel Norwegian Wood from start to finish. It was published in 1987 by Kodansha Limited. 

This book is a story of loss, regret, and desire that spans several decades of Japan’s recent history, as seen through the eyes of Toru Watanabe. The author masterfully captures the zeitgeist while also providing an intimate portrait of one young man’s journey into adulthood and all its attendant joys and sorrows – sex, love, disappointment, heartbreak. Undoubtedly, this is one of the books similar to Norwegian Wood in this list. In Addition, if you’re looking for Norwegian Wood similar books, then you should check this list.

No Longer Human, by Osamu Dazai

Have you ever read a book and couldn’t put it down? You just had to know what happened next. That’s how I felt when I read No Longer Human. It’s the story of a young man who is struggling to find his place in the world. He feels like he’s not fit for society and doesn’t belong anywhere.

This book will keep you engaged until the very end. If you’re looking for some good books like Kafka On The Shore to read, I would highly recommend No Longer Human. You won’t be disappointed.

The Metamorphosis, by Franz Kafka

Franz Kafka’s The Metamorphosis is a book that completely took me by surprise. It follows Gregor Samsa as he wakes up one day to transform himself into a giant beetle-like creature. 

Metamorphosis book
Image from @mbsh.bookstore

His family is forced to cope with this new development while Gregor struggles to adjust to his new body and life. What makes this book so great is the way Kafka takes what could be a dark and depressing story and makes it into something humorous.

The Stranger, by Albert Camus

The Stranger is an existentialist work of fiction that tells the story of a man named Meursault. He lives in Algiers and works as a shipping clerk, but his lackadaisical attitude toward life drives what happens to him throughout this amazing novel. This is one of those books to read if you like like Kafka on The Shore.

One Hundred Years of Solitude, by Gabriel García Márquez

Novels come and go, but there are a select few that manage to stay in the hearts of readers for decades. One Hundred Years of Solitude is one such book. It was first published in 1967; it has been delighting and mesmerizing readers ever since. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Throughout several generations, the story follows the Buendía family, painting a rich picture of life in Latin America. Whether you’re a first-time reader or have read it multiple times, this book is definitely worth your time. If you’re looking for books like Kafka on the Shore, then it is a perfect book to start with.

The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

“The Picture of Dorian Gray” is a novel by Oscar Wilde published in 1890. The story tells of a man who sells his soul for eternal youth and beauty, leading an immoral life that corrupts him and the society around him. 

It is set in Victorian London, England. After realizing that all evidence of his corruption will disappear with age while the portrait will reveal it forever, Dorian destroys the painting and commits suicide. Without a doubt, this is one of the must read books similar to Kafka on The Shore on this list. In addition, here we list down ten books similar to The Picture of Dorian Gray here.

Convenience Store Woman, by Sayaka Murata

Convenience Store Woman is the story of Keiko, a 36-year old woman who washes dishes in one Tokyo convenience store after another. Though her family and friends are completely against this waste of time and education they’ve given their daughter due to what she calls “reasons,” Keiko took up jobs as slowly working towards becoming just like everyone else: normal!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment