Best 4 Books like Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Listen to this article

Already read ‘Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil’ Novel and looking for similar story books like Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil? Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil by John Berendt is a true crime and non-fiction published in 1994 by Random House. When it was first published, it was a runaway head spending 216 weeks on the New York Times Bestseller list. It was also nominated in 1995 for the general non-fiction Pulitzer Prize. 

We have researched “Non-Fiction” genre and find some books similar to Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. “Check The Price”, if you like any of these titles.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

The City of Falling Angels 

John Berendt

Non-Fiction

Travel Literature

Snow Falling on Cedars 

David Guterson

Fiction

In Cold Blood 

Truman Capote

Non-Fiction

True Crime

The Firm 

John Grisham

Fiction

Mystery

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil Book Summary

The book tells the story of a murder perpetrated by the very influential and intensely wealthy antique dealer ‘Jim Williams’.

One evening during an argument, he shot and killed a young man who lived with him, worked for him, and with whom he had a sexual relationship.

William is charged with first-degree murder, and author John Berendt, an acquaintance of Williams, follows this case and interacts in vital ways with those involved. Then he goes on to give us a full account of that experience in this book. 

Now, although this book goes on to become a work of true crime, it’s nearly halfway through this book before the crime even takes place. Most of the first half of the novels set in Savannah, Georgia, where all of these events take place.

At the very beginning of the book, we are introduced to the eventual culprit of the crime Jim Williams. But there is nothing really to indicate that he’s going to become an important character later on. This is a unique crime book because Berendt is very involved in this event and how he’s telling the story. He never removes himself from the story.

In modern crime books, the authors are separated from the story, and so they are capable of addressing you as the reader and giving you an idea of what’s to come next. There is none of these in this book. The presence of author’s makes this book read like a novel. It is a good gateway book for fiction readers who are looking to get into non-fiction.

4 Similar Books Like Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil

Here are the four books that are quite similar to Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, either written in the “Non-Fiction” genre or written by authors like John Berendt –

The City of Falling Angels, By John Berendt

After achieving 216 weeks run on the New York Times bestseller list for Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil Novel, John Berendt published another non-fiction book, ‘City of Fallen Angels’, in April 2007.

John Berendt came to Venice three days after a dramatic fire destroyed the historical Fenice Opera house. Berendt had planned to visit Venice in the off-season as he wanted to capture the essence of Venice.

He decided to write a book on the city of Venice and Venetians. ‘Peter’ and ‘Rose Lauritzen’, who rent Berendt the apartment, also gave him ways to take advantage as a citizen rather than as a tourist. Berendt becomes a detective, inquiring the secrets of the museum city and revealing the fire’s truths. This is one of the similar books Like Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil as it is written by John Berendt.

Snow Falling on Cedars, By David Guterson

‘Snow Falling on Cedars’ took David Guterson ten years to write. It takes place in a small community in a fictional island in the Puget sound archipelago off Washington City.

The story is about a trial for murder and about a forbidden love. Even before being drawn, many men set sail from this small island to fish for salmon. 

One particular morning, one of them doesn’t come back. This happens sometimes when fishing alone and in the heavy sea is extremely dangerous. But when ‘the Sheriff’ one of the snow falling on cedars characters, pulls the body from the water he sees that the man has suffered what looks like a severe blow to the head.Sheriff becomes suspicious of foul play. The Sheriff immediately looks for the culprit among the island’s Japanese Citizens. 

There was only 12 years ago the president ‘Franklin Roosevelt’ sent the Japanese off to internment camps fearing if they are all enemy spies. It’s only been eight years since the war ended, and the island’s Japanese residents were allowed to move back. Many of the returning men had served honorably in the US Military during the war.

One of them, ‘Kabuo Miyamoto’, who was a decorated war hero, now farming strawberries with his beautiful wife. Since he had been seen fishing near the dead man’s boat, the Sheriff settles him as the chief suspect.

In Cold Blood, By Truman Capote 

‘In Cold Blood’ was published in 1966, and it’s a non-fiction book like Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. The story is about the 1959’s murder of the Clutter family in Kansas.

‘Capote’ and ‘Harper Lee’ went to Kansas before suspects had even been named. They formed relationships with people in the town and with investigators, and eventually with the suspects themselves. It’s written in a unique style, and it’s read like a novel. 

It’s sometimes very journalistic in cold blood, but it gets in the victims’ minds, the people in the town, the investigators, and even the propagators. 

The Firm, By John Grisham

‘The firm’ is probably one of the best John Grisham books. This book is about ‘Mitch McDeere’, and he is just graduating from law school.

Different firms offer him and one firm, in particular, wants him. When ‘Bendini Lambert’ and ‘Locke law firm’ approach Mitch, They’re not only offering him the guarantee of a “three-digit” salary after a couple of years of hard work, the promise to pay his student loans, and a low-interest company mortgage. 

So, ‘Mitch’ and his wife ‘Abby’ pack up and move to Memphis. But Mitch soon realizes that there is more to the firm than he first believed when an undercover FBI agent approaches him with some unsettling truths.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

With his brother Ray’s safety who has served fifteen years in jail and his beautiful wife to consider, what will Mitch decide to do? Undoubtedly, This is one of the Books like Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil in this list.

Final Verdict

If you are a Non-fiction book lover, these books are a great choice for you. If you have questions or comments, please feel free to leave them here. We always love to hear from you.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment