8 Dramatic Books Like My Sister’s Keeper

Listen to this article

Have you completed My Sister’s Keeper and looking for more books like My sister’s keeper? Searching for some books like Jodi Picoult’s tragedy, commercial fiction? Look no further. We have researched “Fiction” and deeply analyzed “Domestic Fiction” genres and find some books for you.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

The Lovely Bones

Alice Sebold

Mystery

Thriller

If I Stay

Gayle Forman

Young Adult Fiction

Thirteen Reasons Why

Jay Asher

Psychological Thriller

Mystery

The Fault in Our Stars

John Green

Young Adult Fiction

The Book Thief

Markus Zusak

Young Adult Fiction

Historical Fiction

Before I Die

Jenny Downham

Young Adult Fiction

The Easy Way Out

Steven Amsterdam

Dark Comedy

Romance

Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie

Jordan Sonnenblick

Young Adult Fiction

If you like any of these book’s summary, then feel free to “Check The Price” to add one to your collection…

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

My Sister’s Keeper Summary

‘My sister’s keeper’, the eleventh novel by Jodi Picoult, was first published in 2004. The storyline has a perfect combination of complicated family relations filled with ethical dilemmas and surprising emotional twists.

The story is about two sisters and their complicated family situation. Among three siblings, ‘Kate’ is the middle child and the older sister of ‘Anna’. Kate diagnoses with acute promyelocytic leukemia (blood and bone marrow cancer). Anna is always considered a savior for her sister. At her early age, she donates her umbilical cord blood to her sister. For a while, it was successful. But again, cancer begins to spread. Even after that, she is happy to donate to her sister.

My sister's keeper

Nevertheless, at the age of 13, she is asked to donate one of her kidneys because of Kate’s kidney failure. As she likes to play hockey, the loss of a kidney could have some major consequences. So she decides to appeal for medical emancipation. After that, the feud between her and her parents starts.

Initially, her mother, ‘Sara’, who had been a civil attorney, thought of representing herself against Anna. Throughout the trial, the real reason for Anna’s appeal comes out. After that, the story leads to a shocking truth and a mysterious emotional ending.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

8 Similar Fiction Books Like My Sister’s Keeper

In this list you’ll find some read-alike books similar to My Sister’s Keeper and some books written by author like Jodi Picoult.

The Lovely Bones, by Alice Sebold

‘The lovely Bone’ is one of the books similar to My sister’s keeper. This fictional book is about a teenage girl named ‘Susie’. One day when she is returning from her school, she gets raped and murdered.

Her neighbor ‘George’, a 36 years old man, builds dollhouses for a living. He convinces her to look into an underground kid’s hideout, which he built in the field. After she goes there, he rapes her. Then he murders her and mutilates her body.

After her death, Susie starts watching over her family and friends from her personal heaven. As they are struggling to move on with their life after her death. The story is filled with fiction, tragedy, supernatural thriller, and wishful thinking at the end.

If I Stay, by Gayle Forman

‘If I Stay’ is about the leading role, who is a 17-year-old young girl, ‘Mia Hall’. The story begins with a tragic car accident of Mia and her whole family. She is the sole survivor of the accident. It leaves her in a coma. During the coma, she has an out-of-body experience.

Throughout the story, the book shows the whole life of her with a series of flashbacks. If she stays alive, she can continue her life with her grandparents and her boyfriend. Otherwise, she can move on and relieve herself from the pain, living without her family.     

Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Ashe

One of the books like My sisters keeper with regret and tragic story, is ‘Thirteen Reasons Why’. In this book, Thirteen reasons why ‘Jay Ashe’ helps increase awareness about suicide and depression against the teenager.

The story is about a high school fresher named ‘Hannah Baker’. She commits suicide and leaves behind thirteen recording tapes with an explanation of her death. They contain thirteen reasons and specific thirteen people, who she blames for her death.

After two weeks of her death, the tapes are mailed out with specific directions, which is to pass on to the next person on the tapes, when the tapes are received by ‘Clay Jensen’, one of Hannah’s classmates. And also one of the mentioned people in the tapes. The story shows all the tragic events of Hannah’s life. And what leads her to death.

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

‘The Fault in Our Stars’ is a young adult novel by John Green. A 16 years old girl, named ‘Hazel’ who has thyroid cancer, joins a support group as her mother’s wish. There she meets a 17 years old boy named ‘Augustus’. For now, he is in remission, but he lost his right leg because of bone cancer.

Basically he is at the meeting to support his friend, ‘Isaac’. Who is suffering from eye cancer? From the beginning, Hazel and Augustus become close with each other, which leads to a romantic relationship. They both experience some great adventure of their life together. However, the story leads to a tragic event at the end with a deep message of life. 

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

‘The Book Thief’ is a historical fiction novel written by ‘Markus Zusak’. With some deep thoughts about humanity, this book became an international bestseller. The story starts with a dramatic narration of death, souls’ collector, a moody and caring male voice. He tells the story of ‘Liesel’. During World War II, she lost her younger brother in a train accident at her young age. After that, she starts to live with a foster family.

She starts to learn reading and writing, during the reign of the Nazi, she finds herself in very distressful surroundings. She comes to understand the power of writing and sharing them. Later she starts to steal books that the Nazis are looking for destroying.

Also, she starts to write her own story. She also makes some friends by sharing her writing words with them. However, all of her friends and neighbors die by the Nazi bombing except her. While searching for the survivor, the workers take the manuscript with the rubble. But death saves and keeps it.

After so many years, ‘Liesel’, as an older woman with a family and many friends, dies in Australia. After collecting her soul, Death gives her the manuscript. Then she asks death if he understood the story. Death replies he couldn’t understand the hypocrisy of humanity. Even he quotes that he is haunted by humans. To read books with narrators like The Book Thief, check this list.

Before I Die, by Jenny Downham

‘Before I Die’ is about a cancer patient named ‘Tessa’. Although she has taken chemotherapy for four years, her cancer is terminal. And she has a very short time to live. While accepting the crucial truth, she comes up with a list containing the things she wants to do before death.

The story views the last days of her life. It follows her personal feelings, her relationships with family, friends, and new boyfriend. And also how she feels being caged in a failing body.    

The Easy Way Out, by Steven Amsterdam

‘The Easy Way Out’ is written by Steven Amsterdam. As one another books like My sister’s keeper, it also contains some ethical dilemmas.

The story is about ‘Evan’, who is a nurse. He assists patients who want to commit suicide. He helps them with the last drink they have asked for. From his point of view, he’s doing them a favor. Sooner he discovers a painful truth about his life. Now he has to make some difficult decisions.

Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie, by Jordan Sonnenblick

‘Drums, Girls, and Dangerous Pie’ is the first novel of Jordan Sonnenblick. The story is a beautiful combination of comedy and emotion.

A thirteen years old boy, ‘Steven’ plays drums in All–Star Jazz band. He is living a normal life. Even he has a crush on the hottest girl in the school. His younger brother ‘Jeffrey’ always annoys him. But Steven’s life becomes complicated when Jeffrey is diagnosed with leukemia. He has to deal with the illness of his brother and also the devastating family situation.

Bonus Book of Interest

Small Great Things, by Jodi Picoult

If you are looking for more books like My sister’s keeper, Jodi Picoult’s another great book; ‘Small Great Things’ is the one for you. The protagonist of the story is an African-American woman named ‘Ruth’. Who is a labor & delivery nurse at a hospital.

One day a white racist couple refuses to take any services from her. They don’t want her to touch their newborn baby. However, the day after that, the baby goes into cardiac arrest. While alone, Ruth is on duty. Then the story goes into a dramatic twist. The story is a perfect combination of racism, justice, ethical dilemma, empathy in society. To get Small Great Things similar books, check this list.

The Storyteller, by Jodi Picoult

Another Jodi Picoult’s book for your pastime is ‘The storyteller’. ‘Sage’, The Storyteller of this book. She is going through depression and loneliness because of her mother’s death.

At the same time, she meets with an older man, ‘Josef’, at her grief support group. After some time, they become close. But things get complicated while Josef shares a dark secret with her and asks her for a big favor, which is unethical and illegal. She becomes perplexed about what to do. 

We Were Liars, by E. Lockhart

Here another fictional thriller book is ‘We Were Liars’. A teenage girl, ‘Cady’ comes from a wealthy family. Her family owns an island with four houses, which her mother and her two aunts share. However, there has been a family feud over wealth among them, which leads Cady to the greatest tragedy of her life.

The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah

A historical fiction presenting the tragedy of World War II by bestselling author Kristin Hannah is ‘The Nightingale’.

The Nightingale book discloses the tragic situation of two sisters ‘Vianne’ and ‘Isabelle’, during the war. Vianne is forced to make unspeakable decisions to keep her family alive. On the other hand, Isabelle falls in love with the wrong man and suffers miserably.

Final Words

We’re not going to lie, that was a tough list. If you think about it though, you can feel all of these books are worth reading and offer something unique for the reader. There is no one-size fits all when it comes to good literature or entertainment; we each have our own interests and tastes in novels.

Hopefully this blog post has given you some ideas on what kind of book might suit your personal taste. Have any suggestions? Let us know in the comments below so I can check them out too.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment