6 Best Biography Books Like Running with Scissors

Listen to this article

If you’re a fan of Augusten Burroughs’ outrageous and darkly humorous memoir Running with Scissors, you’ll love these Six similarly offbeat books. From tales of wacky families to stories of emotional and mental turmoil, these picks are sure to entertain and engage readers looking for something a little different.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Me Talk Pretty One Day

David Sedaris

Humor

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim

David Sedaris

Humor

Fiction

The Glass Castle

Jeannette Walls

 Biography

Memoir

When You Are Engulfed in Flames

David Sedaris

Humor

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

Cheryl Strayed

Biography

Travel Fiction

Tuesdays with Morrie

Mitch Albom

Biographical Fiction

Each one is unique and engaging and will keep you hooked until the very end. Whether you’re a fan of mystery novels or autobiographies, there’s something for everyone on this list.

So if you’re in the mood for a wild ride, dive into one of these page-turners today.

Running With Scissors Summary

This is a story of how the author, Augusten Burroughs, survived living with his eccentric mother. The memoir is both sickening and fascinating because it’s so hard to believe that this could have not only happened but also that he managed to survive it. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

The book was written in a self-deprecating tone where the author constantly points out just how pathetic he was through the events he recounts. He shares his life story, from being a toothbrush salesman to becoming an underwear model to running away from home at age 18. Along the way, he has horrifying experiences like spending time in a mental institution and living on the streets. 

Books Like Running with Scissors

These books are written by some great authors like Augusten Burroughs…

Me Talk Pretty One Day, by David Sedaris

Author David Sedaris is a master at humor and wit. Humor, wit, and the author’s uncanny ability to turn a phrase have made this one of the funniest memoirs ever written. 

This eye-opening, jaw-dropping book describes what happens when a self-conscious young man attempts to become an international journalist for National Public Radio. In his first collection of essays ever published, Sedaris evokes the extraordinary humor of human foibles. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must-read books like running with scissors in this list.

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim, by David Sedaris

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim is a delightful book that will have you appreciating how far we have come as a society. The illustrations are life-like, full of detail, and depict American families from different walks of life. This book will teach you about the past, present, and future–all with their own unique story to tell.

The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls

This is a memoir that everyone should read because it will show you how much one person can do to protect their family. The author shows the reader the true meaning of the phrase “the glass castle” which is something strong, durable, and beautiful like what she created for her family after having gone through hell. If you like Running with Scissors, this book will hook you till the end.

When You Are Engulfed in Flames, by David Sedaris

This book is a stop-gap for when we don’t know what we should do in a given situation. It has 600+ practical and spiritual lessons on how to live and die with grace and humor, the most important of which is: Expect the unexpected and prepare for it. this is a grate book to read after finishing Running with Scissors.

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail, by Cheryl Strayed

A journey of one woman’s physical and emotional transformation and an adventure of self-discovery that would change her life forever. The perfect summer for anyone who has ever dreamed about taking off on an epic adventure or wished they could take another shot at something they let get away. 

Tuesdays with Morrie, by Mitch Albom

The book accounts Tuesdays in 1997 with Morrie Schwartz, a University of Massachusetts, Amherst professor in sociology. 

Tuesday with Morrie
Image from @thepaintedphrases

He relates his thoughts on death and dying his regrets about life, and his insights about human nature. The lessons are both funny and poignant. Morrie’s reflections provide readers with a deeper understanding of their own mortality and empathy for others. This is one of the staple books similar to Running with Scissors.

Final Words:

If you enjoy reading about unconventional childhoods with madcap family dynamics, then these six books are for you. 

This list of must-read books like Running With Scissors includes stories of children who have had to overcome adversity and cope with the challenges of being raised in an environment that is not typical of society’s standards. 

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment