Best 5 Existential Fiction Books like Steppenwolf

Listen to this article

Have you complete Steppenwolf and come here for finding some books like Steppenwolf? You come to the right place… 😉

We think you love existential fiction books. Existential Books are about an individual’s life, who live a chaotic lifestyle and have a mysterious purpose in life. ‘Steppenwolf’ is one of the best existential fiction books where you can find Herman Hesse’s lonely life that makes him horrible. In the article, we will share some existential fiction books like Steppenwolf that show some individual’s point of view and purposes of existence. 

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Milan Kundera

Philosophical Fiction

Romance

The Plague

Albert Camus

Philosophical Fiction

The Master and Margarita

Mikhail Bulgakov

Fantasy Fiction

Modern Literature

1984

George Orwell

Dystopian Fiction

Crime and Punishment

Fyodor Dostoyevsky

Psychological Thriller

Philosophical Fiction

If you like any of these books title, “Check The Price”, so you can easily add one to your personal library…

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Steppenwolf Book Summary

‘Steppenwolf’ by Hermann Hesse was first published in 1927 in German and then translated into English in 1929. By Combining autobiographical and psychoanalytic elements, the novel is named after the lonesome wolf of the steppes.

Steppenwolf book is about ‘Harry Haller’, who thinks he is half human and half wolf. He is a middle-aged man and has an existential crisis and reaches a level of despair when eventually he meets a couple of androgynous characters who take him on a self-awareness journey. He ultimately also meets the spirit of Mozart and has a complete change in consciousness. 

In my opinion, this is a life-type book as Harry Haller struggles with the duality of his existence. One side of him is free-spirited, spontaneous, pressure seeking, which would be the Steppenwolf of him, and the human side of him is intellectual and struggles for the ideals of humanity.

At the point of his middle age, he is a very lonely person because he feels that he doesn’t connect to the people. When he is a free-spirited person, a free-spirited person like him, but when they discover he has this other intellectual and ideological side, then the free-spirited person doesn’t connect to him anymore.

Steppenwolf is attached to the middle class, and Harry could not easily break through these obligations that he had in middle-class life. If you’re an existential fiction lover, Read the Nobel Prize winner Hermann Hesse’s book Steppenwolf. 

5 similar Existential Fiction Books like Steppenwolf

Here are the five books that we find similar to Steppenwolf. These books are either written in the “existential fiction” genre or written by authors like Hermann Hesse…

The Unbearable Lightness of Being, By Milan Kundera

The Unbearable Lightness of Being’ tells a particular story about the contrast of four individuals’ lives against this huge political movement’s backdrop.

Most of the stories take place in Prague in late 1960 with the communist era and then after the Soviet Union invaded. ‘Kundera’ expresses the story of four major protagonist characters who are tied together in some respect though not all of them know each other.

‘Tereza’ and ‘Tomas’ are married to each other, and ‘Sabina’ is Tomas’s mistress, and then Sabina meets a man named ‘Franz’. The story moves back and forth into the lives and situations of all significant characters. This Novel is not about a specific thing. It deals with philosophical ideas, art, politics, and you will also get love in it.

I put this book on the first because Milan Kundera is one of the similar authors like Hermann Hesse. This is a must-read for anyone who like Steppenwolf and searching for books similar to Steppenwolf.

The Plague, By Albert Camus

Get it on Apple Books

In The Plague, you, the reader, followed the life of ‘Dr. Bernard Rieux’ in the French Algerian city overall in the 1940s. This setting is based on the author’s birthplace of french Algeria, although not the same city overall. Rieux is a local doctor who is very rational and realistic, contrasting with many of his close friends who are guided by emotion or religion.

Early on in the story, you learn that Rieux’s wife is diagnosed with tuberculosis and sent out of town to a sanatorium to be treated. Soon after, hundreds to thousands of rats began crawling out of their holes into the city and dying heaps for some inexplicable reason. If you like Steppenwolf, this book will insight you till the end.

The Master and Margarita, By Mikhail Bulgakov

‘The Master and Margarita’ by Mikhail Bulgakov one of the authors like Hermann Hesse. This is the kind of book that you probably have heard a lot about it.

The Master and Margarita contained a Faustian pact. A Faustian pact is a pact between the devil and a human being. Normally the devil offers human beings something in exchange for his or their soul. Faustin packs here is the devil who needs a favor from the human.

The Master and Margarita it’s a political satire. One day the devil lands in Moscow. He’s there on the invitation of the variety theatre. He goes by the name of Woland. Woland looks and sounds like everybody else except that he has a slight foreign accent and he works like a magician. So he’s been hired by the variety theater to do magic shows, but in Moscow, the devil Woland also throws a grand ball and the Margarita of the title hosts the ball.

‘Margarita’ becomes a major character in the second part of the book. She accepts to host the grand ball in exchange for something, but you will have to read the book to find out.

1984, By George Orwell

‘Books like Steppenwolf’ are a mix of autobiography and fiction. ‘1984’ is similar to Steppenwolf book for this reason. The story takes place in a world which is in 1984. 1984 was written in 1949 by George Orwell.

1984 book is set in a dystopian world where you only watch. You can’t say or do anything without Big Brother, who is in the ruling power. Big Brother is the fictional character who rules over everything. He has a telly screen in everyone’s homes which he uses to watch people and to pick up any sounds that they make. He wants to look out of people’s faces to see if they have a nervous twitch or sweating, proving that they are having bad thoughts. Undoubtedly, this is one of the books like Steppenwolf on this list.

Crime and Punishment, By Fyodor Dostoyevsky

The events of crime and punishment take place in the 1860’s Saint Petersburg, Russia. The plot revolves around the main character ‘Rodion Raskolnikov’, who’s had a theory of crime matures.

According to his ideal theory Raskolnikov, mankind is divided into two kinds of people. Extraordinary having the right, ordinary trembling critter. Ordinary men have to live in submission and have no right to transgress the law, but the extraordinary classic examples Napoleon have the right to do whatever it takes, including committing a murder for the sake of future outstanding achievements. 

Raskolnikov himself is very poor. He can’t afford accommodation. His mother and his sister are also poor. He soon learns that his sister Dounia is ready to marry a man she doesn’t love for money to help her family.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

This was the last straw, and Raskolnikov commits the premeditated murder of the older woman – the money lender Louse by his definition and the fourth murder of her sister, the witness.

But Raskolnikov cannot use stolen goods. He hides it. From that time on, a restless criminal’s terrible life begins whose feverish consciousness tries to find support and meaning in life. If you are a thriller books lover, you can read I’m pilgrim and some books like I am Pilgrim.

Bonus Books of interest

One Hundred Years of Solitude, By Gabriel García Márquez

‘One Hundred Years of Solitude’ is a landmark 1967 Novel by Colombian author Gabriel García Márquez. It is a story of seven generations of the ‘Buendia family’ in the town of Macondo. Different characters in the story will help you understand the story better. Gabriel García Márquez’s masterpiece is widely acclaimed and will not fail to amaze you with its literary brilliance.

The Old Man and the Sea, By Ernest Hemingway

‘Santiago’, A 85-year-old experienced fisherman, waiting for 84 days to catch a fish but can’t even find one. During this time period, ‘Manolin’, a young boy takes care of Santiago. On the 85th day, 18 feet long, The Marlin was hooked by Santiago.

However, he is not the only one who wants to get the Marlin. Read the book The Old Man and the Sea to know the rest of the story. Please share with us your review of Steppenwolf. If you have read any similar books like Steppenwolf, feel free to comment below. We always love to hear from you.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment