Five Best Thought‑Provoking Books like The Daily Stoic

Listen to this article

Do you enjoy reading The Daily Stoic? If so, you’ll love these five books that are similar in style and content. Each of these books offers powerful insights and advice for living a meaningful life. 

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Reasons To Pick

Rating

Get This Book

Meditations

Marcus Aurelius

Best Book For Meditations

Letters from a Stoic

Seneca

Best Book On Stoic Philosophy

A Guide to the Good Life

William B. Irvine

Best Book On Stoicism and Stoic Philosophy

Atomic Habits

James Clear

Best Book On Habit Formulation

How to Think Like a Roman Emperor

Donald J. Robertson

Best Book On Modern-Day Guide To The Stoic Wisdom

Whether you’re looking for a new perspective on life or practical tips for improving your day-to-day happiness, these books have something for everyone. So, if you’re looking for your next great read, be sure to check out one of these amazing titles.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

The Daily Stoic Summary

The Daily Stoic is a book for anyone who wants to live life more mindfully and with intention. It’s filled with wisdom from many different philosophers, including Marcus Aurelius, Epictetus, and Seneca. 

The Daily Stoic Book
Image from @kelly__kendrick

The first step in this process is understanding the difference between what we can control and what we cannot. We can’t control what other people think of us or how others feel about our actions; it also means that the world will always change around us and that some things are simply beyond our power to affect or change. 

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference

Ryan Holiday, The Daily Stoic

These truths should not make us settle for less than we deserve, but they should remind us to be realistic about where our influence lies so as not to exhaust ourselves on tasks that are ultimately futile. 

Books Like The Daily Stoic

Here we include five books similar to The Daily Stoic written by some great authors like Ryan Holiday.

Meditations, by Marcus Aurelius

The Meditations of Marcus Aurelius are a remarkable collection of challenging spiritual reflections and exercises written in Greek by the only Roman emperor who was also a philosopher, with no intention of publication. 

This was written as the emperor struggled to understand himself and make sense of the universe. While Marcus Aurelius wrote the Meditations to bring personal comfort and encouragement, he also constructed one of the greatest works of philosophy: a timeless compilation that has been referenced and admired by statesmen, thinkers, and readers over the years. Without a doubt, this is one of the must-read books like Daily Stoic on this list.

Letters from a Stoic, by Seneca

In Letters from a Stoic, Seneca offers to lead a good life. He advises people to be mindful of their thoughts and emotions, avoid comparing themselves to others, and broaden their perspective by considering the past and future. The first step is to “watch out for your guiding principles.” What are you thinking about when you’re alone? What do you think about when in a company? 

These are things that should be at the forefront of our minds because they shape our moral character. That’s why it’s important not just what we do but also what we think about while doing it – self-knowledge is key.

A Guide to the Good Life: The Ancient Art of Stoic Joy, by William B. Irvine

It’s a great read for anyone who wants to deepen their understanding of philosophy, psychology, or life in general. This book is an easy-to-read introduction to Stoicism, one of the most popular ancient philosophies. 

Even if you’ve never been interested in philosophical thinking before, this book will give you everything you need to know about how Stoicism can improve your life–and all without being preachy or dull.

Atomic Habits, by James Clear

It’s not always easy to figure out how to start new habits. Some people feel like they need an entire month of preparation before they can even think about starting a new habit, but that isn’t necessary at all! 

This book will teach you the science behind building good habits and breaking bad ones in just two weeks. You will also find helpful tips, tricks, and strategies for creating your own personal system for success with lasting results. This is the perfect books like Daily Stoic if you are looking for advice on strengthening or breaking old habits in your life. 

How to Think Like a Roman Emperor: The Stoic Philosophy of Marcus Aurelius, by Donald J. Robertson

How to Think Like a Roman Emperor follows Marcus from his days as a young nobleman at the court of Hadrian, when he was taken under the wing of some of the greatest philosophers of the time, through his reign as emperor of Rome at the height of its power. 

Robertson demonstrates how Marcus employed philosophical beliefs and therapeutic procedures to create emotional resilience and persevere in the face of hardship and then walks readers through how they might apply the same techniques to their own lives. Undoubtedly, this is one of the staple books to read if you like The Daily Stoic.

Final Words

The Daily Stoic is a book that can help you find peace and wisdom in your day-to-day life. It’s not an easy read, but the lessons are worth it. If you’re looking for other books on similar topics, check out these five books like The Daily Stoic we recommend.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment