7 Great Books Like The Devil in the White City

Listen to this article

If you’re a fan of Erik Larson’s The Devil in the White City, you’ll love these seven books. They all weave true crime and history together in engaging ways, taking readers on fascinating journeys. 

These books will keep you guessing until the very end from murderous doctors to shady politicians. So if you’re looking for your next reading obsession, look no further than these seven books like Devil in the White City.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

A People’s History of the United States

Howard Zinn

Non-Fiction

Unbroken

Laura Hillenbrand

Biography

Guns, Germs, and Steel

Jared Diamond

Non-Fiction

1776

David McCullough

Biography

Into the Wild

Jon Krakauer

Biography

Travel Literature

The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich

William L. Shirer

Non-Fiction

Sapiens

Yuval Noah Harari

Non-Fiction

The Devil in the White City Summary

The Devil in the White City is a literary nonfiction novel set during the years leading up to the construction of the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair. It also known as The World’s Columbian Exposition, which was intended to honour Columbus’ arrival in America. 

This nonlinear novel is broken into four parts; the first three take place mostly in Chicago between 1890 and 1893. On the other hand, Part IV transported the reader to Philadelphia in 1895. Author Erik Larson employs significant research in The Devil in the White City to recreate two genuine men’s lives and reinvent Chicago during the World’s Columbian Exposition. 

He builds two independent but interconnected storyline lines in the process, attempting to fill in some of the historical gaps. Daniel Burnham, the architect who designed the 1893 Chicago World’s Fair, is the subject of one narrative thread. The secondary plot revolves around the figure H.H. Holmes, a serial killer who uses the fair to locate his victims.

Books Like The Devil in the White City

Here we include seven books similar to Devil in The White city, written by some great authors like Erik Larson.

A People’s History of the United States, by Howard Zinn

If you’re a fan of history, or just reading in general, then you need to read A People’s History of the United States. It’s an incredibly engaging and well-written book covering American history from the bottom up. 

You won’t find any boring stories about presidents or wars here. Instead, you’ll get a detailed look at the everyday people who have made America what it is today. If you only read one book about American history, make it this one!

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption, by Laura Hillenbrand

This book is about the life of a young man. His name is Louis Zamperini, and he was an Olympic long-distance runner who served his country in World War II. Louie’s plane crashed into the Pacific Ocean during World War II, where he survived 47 days on a raft before being captured by the Japanese Navy. 

He spent two years as a prisoner of war in Tokyo, Japan, where his treatment included torture and starvation. It shows that anything can happen if you have courage and hope for yourself! Without a doubt, this is one of the must-read books like The Devil in the White City on this list.

Guns, Germs, and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies, by Jared Diamond

The book Guns, Germs and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies is fascinating. It’s about the way that geography and environment shape different cultures. 

The author Jared Diamond starts with explaining how people in New Guinea live today (poorly) because they’re isolated from other groups who could teach them new ways to grow crops or find food sources. He then goes through history, showing us how different societies developed based on where they lived and what resources were available to them.

History followed different courses for different peoples because of differences among peoples’ environments, not because of biological differences among peoples themselves

Jared Diamond, Guns, Germs and Steel: The Fates of Human Societies

If you like The Devil in the White City, this book will hook you till the end. Additionally, here are seven books to read if you like Guns, Germs and Steel.

1776, by David McCullough

In 1776, David McCullough told the tale of America’s fight for independence in an engaging and informative way. McCullough’s book is a page-turner from start to finish, and it provides readers with an in-depth look at one of history’s most pivotal moments. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

If you’re interested in learning more about America’s struggle for independence, or if you just want to read a great historical novel, be sure to check out 1776. You won’t regret it!

Into the Wild, by Jon Krakauer

Author Jon Krakauer takes this love of nature to the extreme in his book “Into the Wild,” which tells the story of Christopher McCandless, a young man who gave up everything to wander alone through America’s most remote areas. 

What began as an adventure soon turned into a harrowing ordeal, but McCandless refused to give up no matter how great the challenge. For anyone who’s ever felt drawn to explore the unknown, “Into the Wild” is a must-read.

The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich: A History of Nazi Germany, by William L. Shirer

The Rise and Fall of the Third Reich is a book about how Hitler’s Nazi Party came to power in Germany. The book also covers the war years, when Hitler was in control of much of Europe. It tells how his expansion plans eventually led to his downfall. 

If you’re looking for an in-depth look at one of history’s most tragic periods, then this is the book for you. Get ready to learn about Adolf Hitler, Joseph Goebbels, and all the other infamous figures involved in Nazi Germany’s reign of terror. Buckle up – it’s going to be a wild ride!

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind, by Yuval Noah Harari

Sapiens: A Brief History of Humankind is a book that dives into the history and future of humankind. It explores all sorts of topics such as how we evolved, what makes us human, how humans have shaped planet Earth and our species’ prospects for survival. 

This book also features an interview with Professor Yuval Harari by author David Christian who asks him about his thoughts on the future of humanity. I recommend this read to anyone who is interested in learning more about where we come from and where we are going.

Final Words

We hope you enjoyed this list of books that are similar to The Devil in the White City. Check out these titles for some good reading suggestions. Let us know if we missed any that should be added!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment