Six Must-Read Books Like The Gifts of Imperfection

Listen to this article

The Gifts of Imperfection is a self-help book that has been translated into more than 20 languages. It reveals the power and beauty in imperfections and shares how embracing vulnerability can lead to personal growth, creativity, meaningful relationships and joy. 

If you liked The Gifts of Imperfection and want to read more like it, here are six suggestions.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Reasons To Pick

Rating

Get This Book

What Happened To You?

Bruce D. Perry

Best Book To Know About How The Brain Works

The Four Agreements

Miguel Ruiz

Best Book For Stress Management and Personal Growth

Think Again

Adam M. Grant

Best Book To Rethink Your Opinions & Decisions

The Power of Now

Eckhart Tolle

Best Book On Spiritual Enlightenment

The Body Keeps the Score

Bessel van der Kolk

Best Book On Understanding The Effects of Trauma on Brain Development

The Untethered Soul

Michael A. Singer

Best Book On Spiritual Enlightment

The Gifts of Imperfection Summary

Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest. The choice to let our true selves be seen.

Brene Brown, The Gifts of Imperfection

Brené Brown’s book The Gifts of Imperfection is about how to live with joy and love despite our flaws. The author will take you on a journey that is honest, insightful, and often funny as she shares what she’s learned about shame, empathy, vulnerability, courage, worthiness, and connection.

She gives us the gift of real belonging only if we are brave enough to be honest about who we are and face what scares us the most. So, it’s time for us to own our stories as much as anyone else does.

Books Like The Gifts of Imperfection

What Happened To You?: Conversations on Trauma, Resilience, and Healing, by Bruce D. Perry

Perry’s work has helped shift the way we think about trauma and healing. Understanding ourselves helps us move forward, opening up a path to resilience for future generations.

Many people think of Perry as an expert when it comes to understanding themselves or others because he uses different techniques to get under your skin and figure out what makes you tick. However, he does so much more than this. His ideas will help get rid of any negative energy that is holding things back, which will result in brighter days ahead.

The Four Agreements: A Practical Guide to Personal Freedom, by Miguel Ruiz

The Four Agreements is a book about how to be free and how important it is to keep the deals you make with yourself. Miguel Ruiz writes about how we all agree with ourselves that we want to be happy and not suffer.

He discusses how people often make two types of agreements: external ones (with other people) and internal ones (with themselves). Ruiz says that in order to live in harmony, it’s important to be aware of these agreements and follow them faithfully. 

The message in this book is worth taking seriously since it can change lives for the better. It invites readers into a world where they are free from pain or suffering by embracing their own happiness without fear or guilt. If you want to read the four agreements similar books, check this list.

Think Again: The Power of Knowing What You Don’t Know, by Adam M. Grant

People often say that when choosing paint colors or answering a SAT question, you should go with your first thought. But organizational psychologist Adam Grant sees things differently, which he proves in his book. He uses the fall of the Blackberry Corporation and accidents at NASA as examples.

Think again book
Image from @mybookmanager

When people made impulsive decisions that turned out badly because they were biased or too confident of themselves and didn’t listen closely enough to what felt right or how things had always been done. The data doesn’t show how smart we are at making decisions. Instead, our biases cause us to make quick decisions that can lead us down paths marked “WRONG.”

The Power of Now: A Guide to Spiritual Enlightenment, by Eckhart Tolle

The Power of Now is a book about spiritual enlightenment. It’s an enlightening read for anyone looking to find meaning in the present moment. 

The author gives readers tools they can use to get their lives back on track and live more fully in the present, no matter what has happened in the past or what worries they have about the future. This easy-to-read guide is full of useful information about how people can live their lives to the fullest potential. 

The key points from The Power of Now that are —

• What does spiritual enlightenment mean?

• How do you deal with pain?

• How do we stay conscious when we’re not enlightened?

• Why should we live consciously now?

The Body Keeps the Score: Brain, Mind, and Body in the Healing of Trauma, by Bessel van der Kolk

Bessel Van der Kolk, a noted psychiatrist and medical researcher in the field of trauma, has written: “The Body Keeps The Score: Brain Mind & Body In The Healing Of Trauma”. 

This book went straight to the top of the New York Times bestseller list. It was also one of Amazon’s top 20 books since it came out eight years ago. This makes it an important contribution not only to how we heal ourselves but also to understanding what causes these mental illnesses or injuries, so they don’t happen again.

The Untethered Soul: The Journey Beyond Yourself, by Michael A. Singer

This book will change how you feel about yourself and the rest of the world. You’ll learn what it means to live in the present by letting go of painful thoughts and memories that stop us from being happy and self realization.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

By using practices like meditation and mindfulness, the author Singer shares personal stories and teaches readers how they, too, can develop their consciousness by breaking out of habitual ways of thinking that make it hard to find out more about self-discovery (or enlightenment).

Final Words

Suppose you’ve read Brene Brown’s latest bestseller, The Gifts of Imperfection. In that case, chances are you were inspired by her insights about living life authentically – flaws and all. But what if there was more than one author who could help you achieve this goal? 

All of the six books offer advice on being happy and living with flaws, but each has its own unique perspective. We all know the power of reading a good book; it can transport us into another world or teach us something about ourselves that we never knew before. 

This list offers some other great reads for those looking for inspiration in their quest to embrace imperfections!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment