Nine Must-Read Books like The Great Alone

Listen to this article

The Great Alone is a book about a family’s struggle to survive in an Alaskan wilderness. It is also the title of one of my favorite books. In this post, I have compiled nine other great books like The Great Alone that are worth reading if you loved The Great Alone.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Where the Crawdads Sing

Delia Owens

Bildungsroman

Mystery

Before We Were Yours

Lisa Wingate

Domestic Fiction

Historical Fiction

American Dirt

Jeanine Cummins

Thriller

Suspense

The Vanishing Half

Brit Bennett

Historical Fiction

Coming-of-age story

Educated

Tara Westover

Biography

The Midnight Library

Matt Haig

Philosophical fiction

Fantasy fiction

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine

Gail Honeyman

Psychological Fiction

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

Taylor Jenkins Reid

Psychological Fiction

Historical Fiction

A Man Called Ove

Fredrik Backman

Fiction

These books are perfect for fans of family dramas and will keep you hooked until the very end. So, if you’re looking for your next great read, be sure to check out these amazing books.

The Great Alone Summary

The Allbrights are a family who moves to a small Alaskan village for a fresh start in The Great Alone. Ernst, the father, is a Vietnam veteran and former POW who has suffered from post-traumatic stress disorder since the war. Cora, his wife, adores him and makes every effort to assist him. Their small daughter, Leni, is their greatest joy.

When they first arrive in Kaneq’s small outpost, Leni is excited. Ernst’s temper and violent impulses reemerge when the days shorten, and the sky darkens as winter approaches. As Leni grows older, she and her mother must learn to deal with Ernst’s demons.

Books Like The Great Alone

These are the books similar to The Great Alone written by some great authors like Kristin Hannah

Where the Crawdads Sing, by Delia Owens

Kya is alone. She dwells deep in the North Carolina marshlands, abandoned by everyone who should care. She recognizes the species that live there and waits for someone to recognize her—but the locals nickname her Marsh Girl. 

Kya’s exhilarating and harrowing first steps into the outside world, as well as the murderous betrayal that occurs when she allows two young men to get close to her, are chronicled in Delia Owens’ captivating story. 

We could hear the rustle of the cypress leaves thanks to Owens’ poetic words, and we were drawn headlong into her complicated, emotional story. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must-read books like The Great Alone in this list. Additionally, here are ten books to read if you like Where The Crawdads Sing.

Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate

Before We Were Yours, by Lisa Wingate, is a brilliant work of historical fiction that exposes the sinister operations of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society and its decades-long history of kidnapping and illicit adoptions. 

Wingate uses two storylines—one set in the present and the other in the 1940s—to create a gripping, heartbreaking depiction of a family coming to terms with years of deception, shame, and long-buried secrets. Undoubtedly, one of the must read books like The Great Alone in this list.

American Dirt, by Jeanine Cummins

“A novel not just for our times, but for this moment in our times,” Oprah said about this book. Lydia and Luca hide in a shower stall as a frenzy of gunfire and screams shatter their world in American Dirt. 

The book then follows the two as they depart Acapulco and try to reach the U.S. border before the attackers discover them. Cummins succeeds in putting us in the shoes of her migrant characters, leading us on a 2,645-mile journey of poverty, horror, tragedy, perseverance, and hope.

The Vanishing Half, by Brit Bennett

One of the books similar to The Great Alone is The Vanishing Half. The story begins in the late 1960s, when Desiree and Stella, light-skinned black twins, set out on completely opposite paths. Desiree marries “the darkest man she could find” and remains in her rural Louisiana community, while Stella vanishes into a rich L.A. enclave and passes for white. Bennett travels quickly through two decades, as the sisters’ and daughters’ fortunes become unexpectedly interwoven. 

The Vanishing Half is a suspenseful yet poignant novel that addresses complex subjects such as racism, white privilege, and the myriad ways our ancestors influence our identity. We’re still thinking about how amazing this book was. If you like The Great Alone, this book might hook you till the end.

Educated, by Tara Westover

The narrative of a very messed-up childhood and an against-all-odds path toward empowerment, Educated is a brilliantly written testimony to human tenacity. 

Tara Westover grew up in rural Idaho, where her family prepared for the end of the world by stockpiling groceries and guns. Instead of attending school, Tara helped her solitary herbalist mother and worked with her father scavenging scrap metal (leading to horrific near-misses).

Westover has a remarkable gift for writing about both elegance and horror—her story of beginning formal education at the age of 17 and discovering her purpose leaves an indelible mark on the mind.

The Midnight Library, by Matt Haig

It’s not every day that a book makes us reconsider our entire lives. Nora has decided to end her life because she has reached her breaking point, but she isn’t prepared for what comes next: waking up in a library filled with volumes stacked floor to ceiling, each containing a potential interpretation of how her time on Earth could have gone. 

Matt Haig’s imagination sweeps us up in Nora’s journey as she examines her various routes, seeking to find the one that would have led to happiness and fulfillment, with heartfelt tenderness and surprise playfulness. Of course, no life tale is complete without adversity and grief, and Haig’s novel is full of that bittersweet, exquisite insight. We were moved to tears by The Midnight Library, which was poignant, humorous, and odd—and we wouldn’t change a syllable.

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, by Gail Honeyman

Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine is the ideal coming-of-age narrative for adults. The novel, set in Glasgow, drags us into Eleanor’s lonely existence with plenty of heart and charm. 

We couldn’t stop laughing at the 30-year-old heroine’s unabashed social discomfort, such as when she first gets a bikini wax or when she gives a birthday gift of a packet of cheese slices from her fridge. Eleanor’s exit from self-imposed isolation isn’t without some painful and dramatic plot twists thanks to an odd alliance with I.T. guy Ray (first haircut, first-party). This is one of those books to read if you like The Great Alone.

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, by Taylor Jenkins Reid

It reads like a typical rags-to-riches story: Evelyn Hugo, a poor Cuban immigrant’s daughter, arrives in Hollywood in the 1950s and works her way up the ranks. She chooses unknown writer Monique Grant to recount her story, which turns out to be anything but predictable. 

Taylor Jenkins Reid’s story sparkles with the kind of excitement and scandal you’d expect from a Hollywood exposé, but it also delves into more serious topics like racism and prejudice. This is an enticing read for people who want a behind-the-scenes look at celebrities, as well as an honest look at sacrifice and sensitivity. See also books like 7 Husbands of Evelyn Hugo to buy a book similar to it.

A Man Called Ove, by Fredrik Backman

The story of Ove is one that is told with humor, heartache, and a dash of dark humor. He’s grumpy, he’s cranky, but he has the best intentions. Through every obstacle in his way – be it old age or the loss of his wife – he does what he can to make sure that everything turns out right for those around him. 

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Some people will come away from this book feeling like there might still be hope for humanity yet, while others may find themselves living vicariously through Ove as they read about the trials and tribulations of life over fifty years ago. Either way, after reading A Man Called Ove, you’ll never look at your neighborhood watchman quite the same again!

Final Words

If you loved The Great Alone, then read on for nine books that will captivate your imagination just as much. Click the link below to find out more about these new reads!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment