Six Amazing Books Like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

Listen to this article

There’s no question that the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is a powerful book. It tells the story of a woman whose cells were used without her permission to create the first immortal human cell line, and it raises important questions about consent, race, and science. 

If you’re looking for books Like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, you’re lucky. Here are six recommendations that will keep you engrossed in the story. 

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Self Made

 A'Lelia Perry Bundles

Drama

Unbroken

Laura Hillenbrand

Biography

Into the Wild

Jon Krakauer

 Biography

Bossypants

Tina Fey

Autobiography

Alexander Hamilton

Ron Chernow

Biography

The Glass Castle

Jeannette Walls

Biographical 

Each book tells the story of a real person whose life was impacted by disease, science, or history. So sit back and get ready to be inspired by these incredible stories.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks Summary

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks tells the true story of how Henrietta Lacks’s cells – taken without her knowledge – helped fuel some of the most important medical breakthroughs of our time, changing medicine forever. The author takes readers on an extraordinary journey from the rural Virginia tobacco farm where Henrietta grew up in poverty to Baltimore.

Henrietta teaches us about the importance of ethical boundaries between science, medicine, research, and patient communities; it also offers keen insights into science’s role within the context of race, status, gender, and culture

Books similar to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks

These books are written by some great authors like Rebecca Skloot.

Self Made: Inspired by the Life of Madam C.J. Walker, by A’Lelia Perry Bundles

Self Made is a biographical novel about the rise of Madam C.J. Walker and her groundbreaking, successful business empire. The book tells the story of how Walker overcame her impoverished life and became one of America’s first self-made female millionaires, with a net worth over $500 million in today’s money. if you like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, this book will hook you till the end.

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience and Redemption, by Laura Hillenbrand

In his #1, New York Times Bestseller with over 3 million copies sold, the unforgettable story of triumph and redemption is now a major motion picture starring Jack O’Connell. In the spring of 1943, an American WWII bombardier was in a hospital suffering from a broken back. As he delves deep into what it means to lose everything, he finds the courage to keep going. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must-read books like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks in this list.

Into the Wild, by Jon Krakauer

The book is an extraordinary telling of one young man’s odyssey into the wild to live deliberately. It breaks new ground in the great American tradition of nonfiction narrative. It also stands as a major American literary work. 

The power of Into the Wild is to move readers comes not through facts or figures but through its author’s own unique ability to put you inside his experience and make you live it with him–to make you feel what he felt, see what he saw, hunger and thirst,

Bossypants, by Tina Fey

In Bossypants, Tina Fey tells her story from the very first time she played a girl scout troop leader as a hilarious little kid to the high points of her three years as head writer on Saturday Night Live.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Bossypants features Tina’s thoughts on everything from weight gain to feminism, breaking “the glass ceiling” for women in television comedy, and living through the 2008 presidential election. This is one of the staple books to read after finishing The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks.

Alexander Hamilton, by Ron Chernow

From bastard orphan to George Washington’s right-hand man, this is the story of America’s founding father by Pulitzer Prize winner Ron Chernow. This Biography explores Alexander Hamilton’s life from his boyhood in Nevis to his death in 1804. In addition, here we have some best business biography books. Check them right now.

The Glass Castle, by Jeannette Walls

This book is the memoir of Jeannette Walls, which chronicles her childhood in poverty with an alcoholic father and an eccentric mother whose beliefs were partially founded on her. The Glass Castle is an amazing story of resilience, self-reliance, and true grit. It made me believe that nothing can stand in our way if we love each other enough. if you’re searching for books similar to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, this would be a great pick.

Final Words

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks is an incredible story that changed the world. It’s also a heartbreaking tale, but it’s worth reading for anyone who wants to better understand how science and medicine work in our society today. 

If you enjoy this book (or know someone else who does), here are six other books like The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks to consider checking out! You can find them on Amazon by clicking the link below or at your local bookstore if they’re available there as well. What did you think about these books? 

Did any of them surprise you with their similarities to The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks? Let us know what you think in the comments section below!

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment