10 Classic Books Like The Kite Runner

Listen to this article

Have you read The Kite Runner and want some books like that?

You searched and come here to check the list. Right??

We can guarantee you that you come to the right place. We have researched historical fiction genre. I find these following books that you can read after finishing ‘The Kite Runner’.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

A Thousand Splendid Suns

Khaled Hosseini

Domestic Fiction

All the Light We Cannot See

Doerr Anthony

Historical Fiction

And The Mountains Echoed

Khaled Hosseini

Historical Fiction

Domestic Fiction

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell

Nadia Hashimi

Domestic Fiction

The Memoirs of a Geisha

Arthur Golden

Historical Fiction

The Handmaid's Tale

Margaret Atwood

Dystopian Fiction

The Alchemist

Paulo Coelho

Fantasy Fiction

The Book Thief

Markus Zusak

Historical Fiction

Young Adult Fiction

The Boy in Striped Pajamas

John Boyne

Historical Fiction

The Song of Achilles

Madeline Miller

Historical Fiction

Romance Fiction

In this article, we are going to talk about 10 Bestselling Historical Fiction Books like The Kite Runner and some fictional books written by authors like khaled Hosseini. So, readers will be fascinated by these books for their historic authenticity.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

The Kite Runner Summary

Get it on Apple Books

Welcome to another book summary from Books like alike, ‘The kite runner’ by Khalid Hussain. Khaled Hosseini’s books have been sold over 38 million copies in more than 75 countries. ‘The kite runner’ is a major film and ‘Book of The Decade’ chosen by the times, daily telegraph, and guardian.

Set in the time multis fees of the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan, a young boy from the plush lanes of Kabul finds himself torn between the guilt of having to witness terrible things happened to his best friend. He happens to be his Hazara servant and thus not say anything and surviving those tough times of the innovation which forced him and his single father to migrate to the United States.

‘The Kite Runner’ tells the story of ‘Amir’ and his father ‘Baba’, who lives in the city of Kabul, Afghanistan. Amir and his father belong to the ‘Pashtun’ tribe, which is Afghanistan’s most powerful tribal group.

‘Hassan’ and his father live in Amir’s house as a servant. They are ‘Hazaras’, a discriminated tribe in Afghanistan. However, Hassan and Amir are good friends. One day while on a kite flying competition, Amir emerges victorious. Hassan runs for the kite but gets embellished and raped by the neighborhood valley ‘Asif’. However, Amir fails to rescue him from Asif due to his lack of carriage. 

Felt with guilt and wrongdoing and aware of his mistake, Amir decides to blame Hassan for the theft. Several years later, Amir and his father, Baba also decided to secretly flee from Afghanistan after the Russian invasion. Amir and Baba escaped to America to settle down. Amir took a course major in English, and together with his father, they spent weekends selling items at the local market. Later, Amir married Soraya.

the kite runner book

However, Baba dies shortly after the marriage of Amir. After that, Amir is contacted by Rahim Khan, Baba’s friend. He informs Amir that Hassan and his wife live in an old village in Afghanistan and have a son named ‘Sohrab’.

Though, Hassan and his wife got assassinated by the ‘Taliban’. Sohrab now lives in an orphanage. Amir also finds Hassan is his half-brother. So, Amir determined to go to Afghanistan in search of Sohrab. The Taliban have changed down Afghanistan. Asif is now Sohrab’s master. Asif and Amir fight, and Sohrab hits Asif by a slingshot.

Sohrab and Amir escape and go to Pakistan. However, Amir can only adopt Sohrab by the time he comes back from an orphanage. Amir finally manages to take Sohrab to the United States with the help of his wife. He can adopt him Now. 

As a brilliant novelist Khaled Hossain who bends this story down into flattering pages of incledon amber delight, says I believe this is where proper redemption is when guilt leads to good. This story highlights how simple life truths can be found even in the simpler joys of something like a beaten kite..

10 Best Historical Fiction Books Like The kite Runner

Take on this list of Kite Runner similar books that are written by authors like Khalid Hussain.

A Thousand Splendid Suns, by Khaled Hosseini

Get it on Apple Books

‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’ talks about the point of view of Five-year-old ‘Mariam’, an illegitimate child living with her mother in a cottage on the outskirts of Herat, Afghanistan. Her father, ‘Jalil’, visits Mariam once a week. However, she is pleased to be attached to him despite her mother’s warning.

On Mariam’s fifteenth birthday, Mariam leaves her mother’s property and ventures into the heart of Herat, where Jalil lives. So, she force him to keep his promise of bringing her to meet her half-siblings and to see a movie at the cinema. However, Her mother, ‘Nana’ takes this to mean that Mariam has left her for good and commits suicide in Mariam’s absence.

Mariam is sent to stay with her father and his father wife. However, she quickly married shoemaker ‘Rasheed’ in the nearby town of Kabul. After Mariam suffers from a miscarriage, Rasheed unfairly blames her and becomes angry and abusive. 

At the same time, in Kabul, a girl named ‘Laila’ is born on the same day the Soviets invade Afghanistan. She is secretly in love with a boy in the neighborhood, ‘Tariq’. The war with the Soviets continuously gets worse, and many people in Kabul die from the boom. Their houses are being bombed.

Tariq and his family determined to leave Kabul to flee the war. Laila’s house gets bombed before they can escape. Laila survived, but neither of her parents did. Mariam and Rashed take Laila. Later, Mariam finds out Laila is pregnant with Rasheed’s child. What can Mariam do with Laila?

To know what happened next – Read 2008’s Indies Choice Book Award-winning Book ‘A thousand splendid suns’ written by Khaled Hosseini. Books related to A Thousand Splendid Suns are suited to your taste if you have enjoyed reading A Thousand Splendid Suns.

All the Light We Cannot See, by Doerr Anthony

Get it on Apple Books

‘All the Light We Cannot See’ is about ‘Marie-Laure LeBlanc’, from France and ‘Werner’, from Germany. Marie-Laure is a blind girl. Her father takes every possible step to educate her and to make her independent irrespective of her disabilities. Marie’s father makes a small wooden replica of the area to memorize the whole area.

‘Werner’ and his little sister ‘Jutta’ are orphans living in an orphanage. Werner is an expertise in the area of radio and is always thinking about how things work. He keeps asking logical questions, and Jutta, his little sister, is extremely talented. Life was one for all these kids until life decided to play games with them. without a doubt, this book is one of the best historical fiction books like Kite Runner in this list.

And the Mountains Echoed, by Khaled Hosseini

Get it on Apple Books

This book is written by Khaled Hosseini, who is also the writer of some famous books like ‘The kite runner’ and ‘A Thousand Splendid Suns’. And the Mountains Echoed is about two main characters, young boy ‘Abdullah’ and his younger sister ‘Pari’.

This book is narrated in the third person’s perspective and provides several different viewing angles. Written in Afghanistan, this story spans over 50 years and the fourth generation. In a life full of poverty and pain, Pari is the only source of happiness to Abdullah. Abdullah’ can do anything for his little sister ‘Pari’.

Image from @booksmandala

Their father sets off desert to Kabul along with his sister. Abdulla is determined not to be separated from his little sister. But Neither of them knows what this faithful journey is going to bring them into great. This family drama examines the factors that lead to and reverberate from one action a poor family sells their youngest child for money.

The Pearl That Broke Its Shell, by Nadia Hashimi

Get it on Apple Books

When women find strength within themselves and give a hand up, they can change the world. ‘The Pearl That Broke Its Shell’ is a story about ‘Rahima’, a young girl growing up in modern-days in Afghanistan. It’s also the story of her great-grandmother ‘Shekiba’. Both of the young girls and young women in the book dressed for a time as boys. They lived their lives as they endured the struggle of being a woman in Afghanistan.

‘A bunch of push’ is a tradition where a family who doesn’t have a single son will take one of their young daughters and convert that daughter into a young boy. So, they will cut off their hair and change her clothing and give her a boy name and reintroduce her to the entire family and society as a boy. What will happen when they are converted back to a woman because this is a whole different identity? This is one of the best books like The Kite Runner set in Afghanistan.

The Memoirs of a Geisha, by Arthur Golden

Get it on Apple Books

Sometimes life is unfair. Some of you can probably relate to the feeling where you can not reach something, making you feel desperate and willing to risk it all. Arthur Golden’s ‘The Memoirs of a Geisha’ is one of the most captivating books I’ve ever read.

Geisha is a well-known traditional Japanese artist that entertains her audience with her beauty, charm, and dress. In early 20th century, japan, where the story takes place, it is usually a middle-aged businessman who would pay to see the ethereal dancer as an escape from their daily lives.

The Memoirs of a Geisha book begins with an impoverished little village girl named Chiyo. She was taken over by her family and sold to a strict Geisha house. There she learns to be a successful Geisha to survive. During this time, she is treated like a slave and looked down on by the other experienced Geisha. However, she has become one of the greatest Geisha with beauty and cleverness to her advantage.

By reading from a fiction perspective, ‘The Memoirs of a Geisha’ book will keep you wanting more because it dulls into heavy concepts through the beautiful presentation. If you like The kite Runner than this is just the book that will captivate you till the end..

The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood

Get it on Apple Books

The Handmaid’s Tale’ genre is dystopian, and as the genre is dystopian, a lot of unpleasant things are going on in this book. This story takes place in the Republic of Gilead. The US government got overthrown, and a new totalitarian state was formed, which is called ‘Gilead’. The entire social structure is changed and not for better for women who have been stripped of all their rights. Thus, Women have been divided into specific categories. 

All the handmaids are stripped of their names. So, the purpose of the handmaid is breeding. So, only fertile women are made handmaids. They are allotted to powerful commanders. And the commanders impregnate these handmaids. The handmaid who narrates the story named ‘Offred’, and ‘Fred’ is the name of the commander she is allotted to. There are two parts to this story.

One part is the night part, and the other is the events that take place during day time as narrated by Offred. ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ is an excellent dystopian novel that will terrify you to the core. 

The Alchemist, by Paulo Coelho

Get it on Apple Books

Shepherd, named Santiago, travels to Egypt from his home in Spain in search of treasure. On the way of  his travels, he meets a king, a gypsy woman, and an alchemist who help him along the way.

Although, Nobody knows where the treasure is. But throughout Santiago’s journey, he learns to listen to his heart. Wherever your heart is, you will find your treasure there. ‘The alchemist’, one of the best books similar to Kite Runner, which won the Corine International Award in 2002.

The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak

Get it on Apple Books

‘The Book thief’ tells the story of ‘Liesel’. Liesel is a German girl who left with her foster parents right before WW2. She starts stealing books before she could even read.

Amidst the horrors of war and continuous raids, her kind foster father, ‘Hans’, takes in a Jew and hides her in the basement. As Liesel’s obsession for books grows stronger, death travels the earth taking more souls than ever. Published in 2005, like The Kite Runner, it became an international bestseller and won Kathleen Mitchell Award in 2006. Books like The Kite Runner and The Book Thief will take the readers back in time to witness the turbulence of world war two.

The Boy in Striped Pajamas, by John Boyne

Get it on Apple Books

‘The Boy in Striped Pajamas’ starts as two boys sitting on either side of a fence, talking to each other. The more the boys know each other, they start mimicking each other’s actions. There is a moment when ‘Bruno’ looks across, and he sees people wearing what he perceives to be uniforms of striped pajamas, and he references his sister ‘Gretel’.

John Boyne did a lot of research on the clothes that inmates at the camps were wearing. The different types of clothes, different badges signify whether you were a Jew or you were a homosexual or whether you are a gypsy. So, You can take an idea of extraordinary genocide in the 1940s and narrow it down and see how things are going on today. setting is different time, this books describe tragedy of life like The kite Runner.

The Song of Achilles, by Madeline Miller

Get it on Apple Books

‘The Song of Achilles’ is the retelling of the hero Achilles’s myths as told by petroglyphs of his beloved companion. It starts when the two are boys. Petroglyphs find the way to Achilles because he is exiled from his kingdom for accidentally killing a boy.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

However, the two become friends and grow up together, and then as the trojan war begins, they join the war, and the story goes through the end of their adventure in the trojan war.

Bonus book of Interest

They Both Die at the End, by Adam Silvera

Get it on Apple Books

‘They Both Die at the End’ book is set in a world where you get a phone call, and the day you’re going to die from death cast. Death cast is never wrong and can’t tell you how and the time you’re going to die. However, the story follows two boys ‘Mateo’ and ‘Rufus’, who meet on the day they find out they are about to die and attempt to live a lifetime in a single day.

Life of Pi, by Yann Martel

Get it on Apple Books

‘Life of Pi’ is a story about a young man named Pi ( Piscine Patel ). His family owns a zoo in India. Growing up, Pi is interested in religion. So, he converts to each of the major religions. The family decides to move to Canada. But on the way there, their ship sinks. Pi finds himself on a lifeboat with a tiger, Richard Parker, a hyena, a zebra, and an orangutan.

Pi manages to keep himself separated from the other animals. While, hyena kills the zebra and the orangutan. He fears that he will be killed next. But the tiger kills the hyena. Pi decides to build an adjoining raft connected to the lifeboat by a rope and lucky find survival supplies, such as food and medicine.

Instead of waiting for the tiger to die, Pi decides to train up the tiger to ensure his own personal survival. Will Pi survive in the end? Read one of my favorite books, Life of Pi by Yann Martel.

Final Words

Did you enjoy the article? These Books Related to The Kite Runner will give you insights to history and complexity of human nature. So, “Check The Price” to keep one in your collection… Moreover, if you have read any other Books Like The kite Runner, feel free to comment below. We always love to know from you.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

25 thoughts on “10 Classic Books Like The Kite Runner”

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one these days.

    Reply
  2. Usually I don’t read article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very great article.

    Reply
  3. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Comment