7 Inspirational Books like The Last Lecture

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com
Listen to this article

Already finished ‘The Last Lecture’ and searching for inspirational books like The Last Lecture. Here, In this article, I will share some books that give individual’s ideas on a specific thing. I hope you’ll love these books.

Try Something New đź“–

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

The Last Lecture Summary

‘Randy Pausch’ was a lecturer at Carnegie Mellon University. He taught computer science, and he was diagnosed with terminal pancreatic cancer. There is a series at Carnegie Mellon when the professor is going to give them last lecture. He invited a bunch of people from the community to come and see it.

Randy Pausch gave his last lecture. Instead of giving a speech about computer science or what most people expected, a lecture about death and dying in cancer, he decided to give a lecture about success and how to best live our life. As he gave the speech, he decided to expand on some of these topics and wrote a book before he passed away. 

Randy Pausch discusses some topics in his lecture and in this book are – achieving your childhood dreams, overcoming obstacles, utilizing an appreciating time, how to become successful, find your own definition of success, and or not worry about success. 

He talks about his experiences, dreams, and what it was for him to work with students, and the opportunities his life had given him. A huge thing Randy decides to focus on in this book is taking control of your dreams and how to do that, what can you say to make someone listen to you and how to not worry about the right opportunities coming your way but how to also grab the opportunity you see and bring it into you.

Randy Pausch also talks about the importance of not stressing out and the importance of living every day as if it’s your last day. This book is filled with humor and intelligence. You might know some of it and some things you don’t know, but he says it in such a funny, humorous, and fantastic way with his own anecdotes. How do you figure those things out in your own life and how you can figure those things out in your life, and it never hurts to reiterate such wonderful, powerful messages. He articulates himself so well throughout this book, and I think his perspective is one worth listening to.

Click here to read the book summary of Looking for Alaska.

7 Books Similar to The Last Lecture

Here I list 7 Non-fiction books like The Last Lecture –

1.Tuesdays with MorrieMitch Albom
2.When Breath Becomes AirPaul Kalanithi
3.Man’s Search for MeaningViktor E. Frankl
4.The Glass CastleJeannette Walls
5.For One More DayMitch Albom
6.Into The WildJon Krakauer
7.Outliers: The Story of SuccessMalcolm Gladwell

 Tuesdays with Morrie, By Mitch Albom

‘Morrie’ was a knowledgeable, sensitive, and kind person. Throughout the book, the reader learns how consciously and maturely he accepts his condition with no shame and even a bit of humor. In the face of death, knowing that every day could be his last, Morrie could verbalize so clearly matters in life. It’s a story about a young man who’s kind of lost and an older man who’s dying who takes him in and teaches him a last class on what’s important in life.

When Breath Becomes Air, By Paul Kalanithi

The first half of this book is about Paul Kalanithi’s love for medicine, how he moved from an English degree to medicine because he wants to think about life and death. The second half is when Paul finds out he got terminal cancer, and it’s about how he adjusts his life and priorities in his final few years. Anyone interested in medicine or interest in life and death, should definitely read this book.

Man’s Search for Meaning, By Viktor E. Frankl 

‘Viktor E. Frankl’ is a neurologist and a psychiatrist born in 1905 and died in 1997. He was an inmate of ‘Auschwitz concentration camp’ during World War Two. The book talks about the human spirit to survive when every source of hope seems lost. If you read the book ‘Man’s Search for Meaning, you can know that some of the sufferings we have are not like the suffering of people, those who go through during World War Two in concentration camps.  

read – 11 Best Young Adult Fiction Books like Looking for Alaska

The Glass Castle, By Jeannette Walls

‘The Glass Castle’ is a story about Jeannette’s growing up and a memoir of her family. Her father was an alcoholic and came from a low-income family. Her mother was kind of a free spirit and came from a highly structured, wealthy family. Together they began life, and they have a strong philosophy about how to live. 

For One More Day, By Mitch Albom

‘For One More Day’ is a story about a guy who’s about to give up! The book begins on the last life of his life. His name is ‘Charley Benetto’, a one-time baseball player whose dreams haven’t worked out. He is always chasing the wrong thing. He wants to commit suicide because his only daughter will not allow him to go to her wedding because he is drunk, and she is so ashamed of him.

Into The Wild, By Jon Krakauer

The story takes place in the early ’90s. It’s about ‘Christopher McCandless’, who graduated from college, gave away all his money to charity, and started traveling across the United States. He traveled all around, especially in the west. He stayed in some locations long enough to get a job, get to know people, and he ended up in Alaska, where he died in the woods. His death has sparked a lot of debate. However, ‘John Krakauer’, the author of this book, released an article in The New Yorker presenting new evidence that backed up his new theories about how Chris dies.

Outliers: The Story of Success, By Malcolm Gladwell

In Outlier, Malcolm Gladwell popularized the idea that ‘10,000 hours of practice’ will make you an expert in your work line. But it’s not just 10,000 hours of practice that make you successful. It’s 10,000 hours of practice leading up to the right circumstances that will make an individual world-class. 

Give your opinion on how you feel about these books. If you have recommendations on “Books like The Last Lecture,” leave a comment below. We always love to hear from you.

4 thoughts on “7 Inspirational Books like The Last Lecture”

Leave a Comment

Shares