Seven Sci-Fi Books Like The Martian

Listen to this article

The Martian is a fast-paced and engaging read. Like the movie it is based on, the novel is set on Mars and follows the journey of an astronaut, Mark Watney, as he is stranded there and has to use all his ingenuity and resourcefulness to survive.

If you’re looking for a space adventure that is both hilarious and nail-biting, check out some of these seven books like The Martian.

The Martian Summary

Space is an exciting and dangerous place. Space travel has shown that it has both incredible benefits and great risks. In The Martian, author Andy Weir shares how one astronaut dealt with being stranded on Mars with humor, intelligence, and creativity. This is a fantastic adventure story following the everyday life of an astronaut stranded on Mars.

Books similar to The Martian

if you’re looking for a gripping read that will keep you entertained, then check out some of these books like The Martian.

Packing for Mars, by Mary Roach

Packing for Mars by Mary Roach is a fun-filled book that will teach you everything about the latest exploration of space for humans.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

In Packing for Mars, she tackles the idea of going to live on mars with humor and curiosity as she investigates how we would survive on another planet. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must read books like The Martian in this list.

Z for Zachariah, by Robert C. O’Brien

Z for Zachariah is a book by Robert C. O’Brien tells the story of a teenage girl who lives in a world after a nuclear war. 

Loon is a teenager who spends her time getting to know the other inhabitants in the valley and trying to make sense of what’s left after the nuclear fallout.

Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel

It tells the story of a Hollywood actor struggling with self-loathing, an extraordinary woman who strives to preserve art and humanity in the aftermath of a flu pandemic that has decimated society, and a nomadic group of actors roaming the scattered outposts of the Great Lakes region, risking everything for art and humanity. This is a highly acclaimed and must-read book like The Martian on this list.

World War Z: An Oral History of the Zombie War, by Max Brooks

This is an all new World War Z experience: what really happened and how we survived. This isn’t just about zombies, this is about everything that came with them: plague, death, famine, violence, and more. This is mankind’s story so far…for who knows about tomorrow.

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick

The Electric Sheep is a novel about the future by Philip K. Dick. Written in 1968, it still holds up to be one of the most clever books ever written. The protagonist is Rick Deckard, a bounty hunter in San Francisco who spends his days hunting down androids, known as “replicants.”

The Time Machine, by H.G. Wells

The time machine was invented by the scientist to see earth as it will be far in the future. There are many different events that happen in this book which give detailed descriptions of what life will be like in the future. It is up to you, the reader, to decide what you think about the possible future.

Starship Troopers, by Robert A. Heinlein

The book is about the futuristic war against the alien race of insect lifeforms. The book discusses many aspects of military life, including training, combat, and the uneasy relationship between citizen soldiers and the military profession. It offers an in depth discussion of what it means to be a good citizen in a democracy.

If you love The Martian, then you’re going to love this book! It’s just as amazing as the movie and might even make you cry!

Final Words

In conclusion, I recommend books like The Martian for anyone looking for a good science fiction read. With exciting plot lines and interesting characters, these books are sure to entertain. So if you’re looking for a great summer read, look no further than The Martian.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment