6 Classic Books like Old Man and The Sea

Listen to this article

You may have heard of the book Old Man and The Sea. What was once a good book back in its day is now just another story that has been told too many times. Maybe you’re looking for new books to read, or maybe you’re just curious about what other stories are out there.

Either way, here are some books similar to Old Man and The Sea that I recommend reading.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

The Color Purple

Alice Walker

Domestic Fiction

The Good Earth

Pearl S. Buck

Historical Fiction

All the King’s Men

Robert Penn Warren

Political Fiction

1984

George Orwell

Social Science Fiction

Domestic Fiction

The Picture of Dorian Gray

Oscar Wilde

Gothic Fiction

Philosophical Fiction

Of Mice and Men

John Steinbeck

Fction

Tragedy

Old Man and The Sea Summary

One day an old man was fishing off the shore of Cuba. He had not caught anything in 85 days, and he was on his last cast. The old man’s luck changed when a big marlin bit down on the bait! What follows is a tale of struggle between two titans as they fight for dominance until finally one prevails. 

The book Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway is about this single event that represents so much more than just fishing to its protagonist Santiago, who has lived through many struggles in his life but always managed to persevere with dignity and integrity. That’s what makes Old Man and the Sea such an engaging read: It is both entertaining as well as deeply insightful.

Books Like Old Man and The Sea

Here we include 6 classic books similar to Old Man and The Sea that are written in same genre or written by authors like Ernest Hemingway.

The Color Purple, by Alice Walker

The Color Purple is a 1985 Pulitzer Prize-winning novel by Alice Walker. It was her first book and became an immediate best seller. The novel focuses on the struggles of Celie, a young black woman who is abused by her father and later by her husband after she is sent away to live with him as his wife.

The book also focuses on the relationships between men and women, African Americans, African Americans and whites, Christianity, feminism, poverty, sexuality, identity politics in the Southern United States during the early twentieth century. Undoubtedly, This is one of the books like the Old Man and The Sea on this list.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

The Good Earth, by Pearl S. Buck

This book is about a family in China and their life there. It takes place over the course of several years, and it covers everything from the weather to how they get food to what they eat. The main characters are Wang Lung, his wife O-Lan, and his uncle Wang the Old One.

The Color Purple is a novel by Alice Walker published in 1982. It won both the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Award for Fiction. It was later adapted into an Academy Award-nominated film of the same name. 

All the King’s Men, by Robert Penn Warren

Robert Penn Warren’s Pulitzer Prize-winning novel of the American South, All the King’s Men, is a rich and complex examination of power and corruption. The story follows Willie Stark. He is an ambitious young politician who rises from poverty to become governor through his cynical manipulation of people.

Stark becomes increasingly isolated from friends and family members as he achieves political success at any cost. As the novel progresses, Stark loses touch with reality, believing himself to be invincible until he comes face-to-face with his own mortality.

1984, by George Orwell

George Orwell’s 1984 is a classic dystopian novel about a totalitarian government that watches its citizens with an all-seeing eye. It was first published in 1949 and has been adapted into movies, television shows, and even video games.

In 1984, the protagonist Winston Smith rebels against his oppressive society by keeping a diary of his thoughts and feelings – crime that could lead to his execution. The book is available for purchase on Amazon as a hardcover or paperback book, or as an ebook for Kindle devices. Without a doubt, This is one of the books to read if you like Old Man and The Sea. Moreover, here are some books to read if you liked Brave New World.

The Picture of Dorian Gray, by Oscar Wilde

The Picture of Dorian Gray is a novel by Oscar Wilde published in 1890. The work has been called “one of the greatest novels of the Victorian era”, and it has had an important influence on literature since its publication. The story depicts the life of an aesthete named Dorian Gray. He leads a corrupt double life while secretly preserving his innocence. This is one of the best classic books similar to the old man and the sea.

Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck

Lennie Small is a big man, with large, powerful hands. He has the mind of a young child. George Milton is small and quick-witted. He takes care of Lennie by getting him out of trouble and trying to prevent him from getting into more trouble. This book tells the story of their lives together on a ranch in California’s Salinas Valley during the Great Depression.

Final Words:

So if you’re looking for some classic literature to enjoy, we’ve got six great options that will make your summer reading list.

Pick up one of these books and get lost in the pages like no time has passed at all. Remember to give yourself plenty of time to read without distractions. So that, you can truly appreciate what each author was trying to say with their story. We hope this post helped inspire a new book selection for your library. Or gave you an idea about how it’s possible to find more enjoyment out of something as simple as reading.

Which is your favorite? Let us know by leaving a comment below! If none are on our list, let us know which ones would be on yours!  Check The Price On Amazon

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

10 thoughts on “6 Classic Books like Old Man and The Sea”

  1. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check
    again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right
    here! Good luck for the next!

    Reply
  2. I am not sure where you’re getting your info, but good topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding more.

    Thanks for fantastic information I was looking for this info for my mission.

    Reply
  3. I do not even know the way I finished up right here, however I believed this put up
    was good. I don’t realize who you are however definitely you are going to a well-known blogger for those who are not already.
    Cheers!

    Reply
  4. You could definitely see your expertise
    in the work you write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers
    like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.

    All the time follow your heart.

    Reply
  5. Hello! This is my 1st comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I genuinely enjoy reading through your blog posts.

    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Many thanks!

    Reply
  6. It’s really very difficult in this busy life to listen news on Television, therefore I simply
    use world wide web for that purpose, and obtain the newest news.

    Reply
  7. What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this
    I’ve found It positively useful and it has aided me out loads.
    I hope to give a contribution & help other customers like its aided me.
    Great job.

    Reply
  8. I’m not certain where you’re getting your info, however good topic.
    I must spend a while finding out much more or working out more.
    Thanks for excellent information I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

    Reply

Leave a Comment