Six Historical Fiction Books Like The Sun Also Rises

Listen to this article

The Sun Also Rises is a classic book that many people enjoy. If you’re looking for another great novel with a similar style and feel, check out these six books like The Sun Also Rises. 

These novels are full of love, humour, and tragedy, just like Hemingway’s masterpiece. So if you’re in the mood for a good read, be sure to check out one of these titles.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

On the Road

Jack Kerouac

Autobiographical novel

Heart of Darkness

Joseph Conrad

Psychological Fiction

Adventure Fiction

The Catcher in the Rye

J.D. Salinger

Bildungsroman

Young Adult Fiction

The Grapes of Wrath

John Steinbeck

Historical Fiction

The Great Gatsby

F. Scott Fitzgerald

Historical Fiction

All Quiet on the Western Front

Erich Maria Remarque

War story

Fiction

The Sun Also Rises Summary

Set in France and Spain, the story follows Jake Barnes, who is an American journalist. He is recuperating at his friends’ home outside Paris. In The Sun Also Rises, Ernest Hemingway explores themes of youth, disillusionment, maturity, sex and death through his characters’ experiences in post-war Europe. It is considered one of the most influential novels of the Twentieth Century.

Books Like The Sun Also Rises

If You The Sun Also Rises, these are the six books to read after it.

On the Road, by Jack Kerouac

“On the Road” provides an adventurous first-person account of one man’s search for meaning outside of himself. Written by Jack Kerouac, “On the Road” tells the story of Sal Paradise and his friend Dean Moriarty. It talks about different cities, countries, cultures, and the diverse people who live in them. You can feel like you are on an adventure even if you are far away from civilization.

Heart of Darkness, by Joseph Conrad

Heart of Darkness is an intense, gripping psychological thriller. It features a thrilling blend of sci-fi themes and horror, as well as an extremely disturbing look at Europe’s dark side. The protagonist, Marlow, is assigned to transport ivory across Africa. He tells his story to another narrator (a nameless man) who has come to hear it. This book unveils the darkest secrets that exist within human civilization. A great read for anyone who enjoys reading about other worlds and alternate universes. In addition, here are some Heart of Darkness similar books, Check these books now.

The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger

The Catcher in the Rye is a coming-of-age story that follows the main character Holden Caulfield over three days in New York City. Written from his perspective, the reader is able to form a strong connection with him.  

The author, J.D. Salinger, uses an interesting narrative technique by mixing thoughts and feelings about past events with the current situation Holden finds himself in. This gives more depth to him as a character and helps readers to form a strong connection with the protagonist. Undoubtedly, this is one of the must-read books like The Sun Also Rises on this list.

The Grapes of Wrath, by John Steinbeck

The Grapes of Wrath is a classic Pulitzer Prize-winning novel John Steinbeck wrote. This book tells the story of the Joad family, who must travel from Oklahoma to California in search of work during the Great Depression. The main themes are poverty and a sense of place, and it paints a dark picture of America during this time period. The Grapes of Wrath has been translated into many languages and remains popular today. If you’re looking for books similar to The Grapes of Wrath, then check these books.

The Great Gatsby, by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby is a dramatic story about the quest for the American dream. It will enlighten you about 1920s society and how greed can turn into something that corrupts even those who don’t realize they’re being corrupted. This book is not just a novel, but it’s also a great source for understanding how society functioned in those times. If you like The Sun Also Rises, then this book will hook you till the end. Moreover, here are a list of 12 books related to The Great Gatsby. Check this list.

All Quiet on the Western Front, by Erich Maria Remarque

The novel was written by a German soldier and author Erich Maria Remarque, who served on the Western Front from 1914 to 1918. In this book, the protagonist Paul Bäumer joins the German army during WWI. He turns from a naive eighteen-year-old to a hardened combatant who witnesses the horrors of war firsthand. Without a doubt, one of the best books similar to The Sun Also Rises in this list.

Get 30 Days Free Trial of Audible to try out an audiobook or try out Kindle Unlimited to Download Unlimited Books.

Through Paul’s eyes, you see what life is like for soldiers on both sides of no man’s land. This is a book about the brutality of World War One and how it affected those involved. This is one of the staple books to read after The Sun Also Rises.

Final Words: 

If you are looking for a good book to read, here is a list of 5 books like The Sun Also Rises. All these books share the same themes as Hemingway’s novel and will keep your interest with their interesting plots. You can’t go wrong with any one of these choices if you’re in need of something new to read! Click The “Check out the prices” Button.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment