8 Middle Grade Books Like Where The Red Fern Grows

Listen to this article

For those of you who are fans of the book Where the Red Fern Grows, this blog post will give you some great recommendations for other books that are similar to it. There are eight books in total on this list.

Book Name

Author/Authors Name

Genre

Rating

Get This Book

Because of Winn-Dixie

Kate DiCamillo

Children's Literature

Young Adult Fiction

Island of The Blue Dolphins

Scott O’Dell

Historical Fiction

Children's Literature

Number the Stars

Lois Lowry

Children's Literature

Historical Fiction

The Outsiders

S.E. Hinton

Young Adult Fiction

Bildungsroman

The Tale of Despereaux

Kate DiCamillo

Fantasy Fiction

Fairy tale

Esperanza Rising

Pam Muñoz Ryan

Tragedy

Historical Fiction

Frindle

Andrew Clements

Children's Literature 

Fiction

Wonder

R.J. Palacio

Children's Literature 

Where the Red Fern Grows Summary

It’s hard to believe that it’s been over forty years since Wilson Rawls’ Where the Red Fern Grows was published. The story of a boy and his two coonhounds has captivated readers for generations, and there’s a reason why. Rawls has a way of painting a vivid picture with his words, transporting you into the Ozarks hills where William lives.

You feel the love Bill has for his animals and the heartbreak he experiences when they’re gone. If you’ve never read this classic tale, or if it’s been a while, I highly recommend picking it up again—or picking it up for the first time. You won’t regret it.

Books Like Where the Red Fern Grows

If you like Where the Red Fern Grows, these books will hook you till the end.

Because of Winn-Dixie, by Kate DiCamillo

The book “Because of Winn-Dixie” is about a girl named Opal who has just moved to her new town. She meets different people and becomes friends with them. Opal’s journey in the story begins when she finds a stray dog that she eventually names Winn-Dixie.

If you’re looking for a truly amazing read, then don’t miss out on Because of Winn-Dixie. You won’t regret it!

Island of the Blue Dolphins, by Scott O’Dell

The story is set on an island off the coast of California, and it’s about a Native American girl who has to fend for herself after her tribe is massacred. It’s such a compelling story, and I can’t believe it’s based on a true story. 

If you’re looking for adventure-filled books similar to Where The Red Fern Grows to read, then I highly recommend Island of the Blue Dolphins. You won’t be disappointed.

Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry

Whether you’re a book reader or just love books, chances are you’ve heard of the Newbery Medal-winning novel Number the Stars. Loosely based on true events, it tells the story of persecution and escapes from Nazi-occupied Denmark. If you’re looking for an engaging read that will keep you hooked until the very end, 

Number, the Stars, is definitely worth your time. Plus, it’s one of those rare stories that will stay with you long after you finish reading it. So if you’re looking for some engaging and moving books like Where The Red Fern Grows to read, be sure to check out Number the Stars.

The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton

The Outsider follows the story of Ponyboy, Darry Curtis, and Johnny Cade. This novel captures the trials and tribulations of growing up in poverty-stricken America during the 1960s. 

The boys are faced with difficult decisions on surviving in their tough neighborhood where violence is commonplace. They find solace in one another as they fight against societal expectations to make something out of themselves despite their limited opportunities for success. If you like Where The Red Fern Grows, this book is a must-read for you.

The Tale of Despereaux, by Kate DiCamillo

It is about a mouse who falls in love with a princess and goes on an adventure to save her from the rats. It’s funny and sweet but also has some darker elements like death. I would recommend this book to those who enjoy fantasy books because it has fairytale qualities and is creative at times.

Esperanza Rising, by Pam Muñoz Ryan

It’s one of those books that teachers and librarians love to recommend, and for a good reason. It’s a beautiful story about a young girl who has to learn how to navigate her way through life in the wake of tragedy. Plus, it’ll make you appreciate all the little things in life. If you’re looking for a good book to read, Esperanza Rising is definitely worth your time.

Frindle, by Andrew Clements

 It’s a story about a student who turns his school upside down by starting a new word for pen – frindle. And while the story is definitely entertaining, there’s more to it than that. 

Frindle is an important book because it teaches kids about creativity and how to think outside the box. So if you’re looking for a good read that will also teach your kids something, be sure to check out Frindle. Undoubtedly, one of the must read books similar to Where The Red Fern Grows in this list.

Wonder, by R.J. Palacio

It’s the story of Auggie, a boy who was born with a facial deformity and had to start fifth grade at a new school. He faces some pretty tough challenges, but he never gives up. You can’t help but root for him the whole way through. Wonder is a must-read for anyone who loves books that make you feel all the emotions.

Final Words

I hope you found this post to be helpful. If you are looking for other books that may interest your child, check out these 8 books like Where the Red Fern Grows. These stories offer various settings and topics, so there is something for everyone. Happy reading.

[Bookslikealike.com] is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.

Leave a Comment